Whitworth named to Outland watch list

LSU senior offensive tackle Andrew Whitworth is among 36 players named to the 2005 Outland Trophy watch list, the Football Writers Association of American announced on Thursday.

The Outland Trophy has been awarded to the best offensive or defensive lineman in college football each year since 1946. The winner is selected by the Football Writers Association of America's All-America Committee.


Whitworth, a native of Monroe, enters his fourth season as a starter on the offensive line for the Tigers. A preseason All-America heading into the 2005 season, Whitworth earned first team All-Southeastern Conference honors for the Tigers a year ago.


Whitworth, who will graduate in December, has played and started 39 consecutive games for the Tigers with LSU going 30-9 over that three-year span. He also has a chance to become the first player in LSU history to start 50 games in a career.


As a junior in 2004, Whitworth started all 12 games for the Tigers at offensive tackle and he finished with a team-best 799 snaps from scrimmage. In 799 plays in 2004, Whitworth allowed only one sack and was whistled for just five penalties. He also ranked among the team leaders with 30 pancake blocks and 66 knockdowns.


The 2005 Outland Trophy announcement will be on Dec. 8 in Orlando, Fla., on the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show. The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee and First Data Corporation, is set for Jan. 12, 2006, in Omaha, Neb.


Oklahoma offensive tackle Jammal Brown won the 2004 Outland Trophy. Former Outland winner Ron Yary from USC (1967), will make the announcement of the 2005 winner in Orlando.

Additional Outland Trophy candidates may be added during the course of the season. Tackles, guards and centers are eligible for consideration.


2005 Outland Trophy Watch List


Jesse Boone, OL, Utah
J. B. Closner, C, Alabama
Daryn Colledge, OT, Boise State
Ryan Cook, C, New Mexico
Mike Degory, C, Florida
Greg Eslinger, C, Minnesota
Steve Fifita, DL, Utah
D'Brickashaw Ferguson, OT, Virginia
Orien Harris, DT, Miami (Fla.)
Manase Hopoi, DT, Washington
T. J. Jackson, NG, Auburn
Max Jean-Gilles, OL, Georgia
Davin Joseph, G, Oklahoma
Jake Kuresa, OL, BYU
Travis Leffew, OL, Louisville
Matt Lentz, G, Michigan
Dylan Lineberry, G, North Texas
Josh Linehan, G, Oregon State

Grayling Love, OT, Arizona State
Jesse Mahelona, DT, Tennessee
Nick Mangold, C, Ohio State
Garrett McIntyre, DT, Fresno State
Marcus McNeill, OT, Auburn
Dan Mozes, G, West Virginia
Haloti Ngata, DT, Oregon
Ryan O'Callaghan, OT, California
Marvin Philip, C, California
Samson Satele, G, Hawaii
Jonathan Scott, OT, Texas
Mark Setterstrom, OL, Minnesota
Ben Siegert, DT, Oregon State
Gabe Watson, DT, Michigan
Andrew Whitworth, OT, LSU
Jon Wilson, C, Air Force
Eric Winston, OT, Miami (Fla.)
Rodrique Wright, DT, Texas

Tiger Blitz Top Stories