Southern Amateur Championship fields four Tigers

Four members of the LSU men's golf team will compete in the 99th Southern Amateur Championship at the historic Dunes Golf and Beach Club in Myrtle Beach, S.C., July 13-16.

The course will play to a par 72 and 7,165 yards for the championship.

Junior All-SEC standout Chris Wells will begin play in the first round from the first tee at 1:40 p.m. CDT, while senior Aaron Smith, sophomore Brian Noonan and sophomore Beck Troutman will each begin play from the 10th tee at 8:50 a.m., 12:50 p.m. and 1 p.m., respectively.

Senior Andrew Lanahan, who finished second in the prestigious Rice Planters Amateur Championship last week, withdrew from the competition due to a death in the family.

The Dunes Golf and Beach Club is a Robert Trent Jones design and is ranked No. 39 on Golf Digest's list of "America's 100 Greatest Public Courses." Past champions of the Southern Amateur include LSU All-American Rob McNamara in 1986 and 1987, as well as PGA Tour veterans Ben Crenshaw in 1971 and 1973, Bob Tway in 1980 and Justin Leonard in 1992 and 1993.

Daily results and leaderboard will be posted on the official Web site of the Southern Golf Association at

Tiger Blitz Top Stories