Augustus, Fowles on University Games final roster

COLORADO SPRINGS -- LSU's Seimone Augustus and Sylvia Fowles, both members of the Lady Tigers basketball team, earned spots on the final 12-player roster for the 2005 United States Women's World University Games team, it was announced on Monday.

Team USA will compete in the 2005 World University Games held Aug. 10-21 in Izmir, Turkey.

Augustus, who was the consensus National Player of the Year this past season for LSU, returns to international competition. The Baton Rouge native was the MVP of the 2003 USA World Championship for Young Women team that won the Gold medal and was awarded the USA Basketball Female Athlete of the Year honors.

Fowles, a Miami, Fla., native, makes her first international team. The 6-6 center helped the Lady Tigers to a 33-3 record as a freshman this past season, averaging 11.8 points and 9.0 rebounds per game.

The LSU duo joins Lady Tigers' head coach Pokey Chatman on the USA squad. Chatman is one of two assistant coaches for the team and head coach Kathy Delaney-Smith of Harvard.

In addition to Augustus and Fowles, the other 10 members of the Team USA include Rutger's Cappie Pondexter, Duke's Monique Currie, Ohio State's Jessica Davenport, Notre Dame's Megan Duffy, Temple's Candice Dupree, Texas Tech's Erin Grant, Ohio State's Brandie Hoskins, Michigan State's Liz Shimek, Stanford's Brooke Smith and UCLA's Lisa Willis.

The USA team will remain in Colorado Springs for training through Aug. 4 before departing for Turkey on Aug. 5. The team will resume training Aug. 6-9 in Izmir prior to the U.S.'s opening game at the World University Games against the Czech Republic on Aug. 10.

The USA World University Games Team players and coaches were selected by the USA Basketball Women's Collegiate Committee, chaired by Sue Donohoe, NCAA vice-president for Division I women's basketball. The committee is also comprised of NAIA designee Julie Van Beek (head coach, Trevecca Nazarene University, Tenn.); NCAA appointees Donohoe, Sherri Coale (head coach, University of Oklahoma), Jim Foster (head coach, The Ohio State University), Trina Patterson (head coach, University of Albany, N.Y.), and Tara VanDerveer (head coach, Stanford University, Calif.); representing the NJCAA is Mary "Roonie" Scovel (head coach, Gulf Coast Community College, Fla.); Wendy Larry (head coach, Old Dominion University, Va.) was appointed by the WBCA; and Beth Cunningham (1997 World University Games gold medalist and 1999 Pan American Games bronze medalist / Bloomington, Ind.) and Carla McGhee (1996 Olympic gold medalist and 1994 World Championship gold medalist / Peoria, Ill.) are the athlete representatives.

The World University Games, held every two years and organized by the International University Sports Federation (FISU), is a multi-sport competition open to men and women between the ages of 17 and 28 (born between January 1, 1977 and December 31, 1987), who are, or have been within the past year, a student at a college or university. The 2005 World University Games will be held Aug. 10-21 in Imzir, Turkey. A total of 21 teams will compete in the 2005 Women's World University Games. The teams have been divided into four preliminary pools, three pools consisting of five teams and one pool consisting of six teams. The U.S. is in Pool B with China, Czech Republic, Poland and South Africa.

After opening World University Game competition on Aug. 10 against the Czech Republic, the USA will face South Africa on Aug. 11, China on Aug. 12, and will wrap up preliminary round play against Poland on Aug. 15. The World University Games quarterfinals will be held Aug. 16, with semifinal games taking place Aug. 17, and finals on Aug. 19.

The USA women have enjoyed outstanding success in the World University Games and have earned 12 medals in 13 appearances, including five golds, six silvers and one bronze medal, and have compiled an overall record of 75-15 (.833 winning percentage) since beginning World University Games play in 1973. USA Basketball last sent a squad to the 2001 World University Games, where the U.S. ran off to a 7-1 record and clinched the gold medal in Beijing, China. USA Basketball did not send a team to the last World University Games in 2003.

Of the 71 all-time U.S. women's Olympic basketball team members, 37 have been members of USA Basketball Women's World University Teams. Most notable among the list of WUG alumni are Carol Blazejowski, Ruthie Bolton, Anne Donovan, Pat Head (Summitt), Lisa Leslie, Katrina McClain, Suzie McConnell (Serio), Ann Meyers (Drysdale), DeLisha Milton, Ruth Riley, Katie Smith, Dawn Staley, Katy Steding, Tina Thompson, Kara Wolters and Lynette Woodward.

2005 USA Women's World University Games Team
Seimone Augustus G 6-1 LSU / Baton Rouge, LA
Monique Currie G/F 6-0 Duke / Washington, DC
Jessica Davenport C 6-5 Ohio State / Columbus, OH
Megan Duffy G 5-7 Notre Dame / Dayton, OH
Candice Dupree C 6-3 Temple / Tampa, FL
Sylvia Fowles C 6-5 LSU / Miami, FL
Erin Grant G 5-8 Texas Tech / Arlington, TX
Brandie Hoskins G 5-9 Ohio State / Dayton, OH
Cappie Pondexter G 5-9 Rutgers / Chicago, IL
Liz Shimek F 6-1 Michigan State / Empire, MI
Brooke Smith C 6-3 Stanford / San Anselmo, CA
Lisa Willis G 5-11 UCLA / Long Beach, CA

Head Coach: Kathy Delaney-Smith, Harvard University (Mass.)
Assistant Coach: Pokey Chatman, Louisiana State University
Assistant Coach: Cathy Inglese, Boston College (Mass.)
Team Physician: Gloria Beim, Crested Butte, Colo.
Athletic Trainer: Jen Jacobs, Eastern Rehabilitation Network (Conn.)

Tiger Blitz Top Stories