Lady Vols edge LSU for preseason top spot

LSU's women's basketball team, the defending Southeastern Conference regular season champions, was picked to finish second in the conference by the media for this upcoming season at Thursday's SEC Basketball Media Days.

Seimone Augustus, the 2004-05 National and SEC Player of the Year, was tabbed to repeat the title and joined teammate Sylvia Fowles on the preseason ALL-SEC first-team.  


LSU, winners of 16 straight SEC regular season games, including all 14 last season, received 11 first-place votes and 248 points by the 22 members of the media that voted. Tennessee, who finished a game behind LSU last season with a 13-1 mark, collected 10 first-place votes and 251 points to edge the Lady Tigers.


"Anytime you're mentioned amongst the top teams in this league it's a compliment to your program," LSU's second-year head coach Pokey Chatman said. "But it is only the preseason."


Georgia had the other first-place vote and finished third in the preseason voting.


Augustus collected 18 of the 22 votes to repeat as preseason Player of the Year, while Georgia's Tasha Humphrey (3 votes) and Tennessee's Shanna Zolman (1) received the other votes.


"What continues to impress about Seimone is not the accolades, but her attitude and ability to keep it all in prospective," Chatman added. "Yes, she's a talent, but she's more impressed with her team."


Fowles, a sophomore center, joined Augustus on the preseason first-team All-SEC. The Miami, Fla., native received 12 votes to place on the six member team. Augustus collected 21 votes to lead the team.


"Sylvia's selection is a compliment to not only her talent, but more importantly her work ethic and attitude," Chatman said.



LSU will begin the 2005-06 season with the first of two exhibition games on Nov. 2 against Everyone's Internet in the newly renovated Pete Maravich Assembly Center. The Lady Tigers open the regular season at Texas Tech on Nov. 13. 






Tennessee (10)              251


LSU (11)                    248


Georgia (1)                 224


Vanderbilt                  201


Ole Miss                    144


Auburn                      129


Florida                     114


Alabama                     104


Kentucky                     87


Arkansas                     76


Mississippi State            76


South Carolina               62







Seimone Augustus, LSU        21


Tasha Humphrey, Georgia      20


Carla Thomas, Vanderbilt     17


Sylvia Fowles, LSU           12


Shanna Zolman, Tennessee     11


Armintie Price, Ole Miss     11






Sarah Pfeifer, Arkansas       3


Tye'sha Fluker, Tennessee     3


Dee Davis, Vanderbilt         3


Marita Payne, Auburn          2


Samantha Mahoney, Kentucky    2


Nicky Anosike, Tennessee      2




Player of the Year


Seimone Augustus, LSU        18


Tasha Humphrey, Georgia       3


Shanna Zolman, Tennessee      1


Tiger Blitz Top Stories