Landry a Thorpe Award semifinalist

LSU safety LaRon Landry is one of 12 players from across the country that have been named as semifinalists for the Jim Thorpe Award, the Thorpe Award Screening Committee announced on Wednesday.

The Jim Thorpe Award has been presented annually since 1986 to college football's top defensive back.

Landry, a junior from Ama, La., has started all eight games for the fifth-ranked Tigers. He currently ranks third on the team squad with 44 tackles, including one tackle for a loss. He leads the team with two interceptions and he's second on the squad with seven pass breakups.

Landry is the quarterback of an LSU secondary that has limited opponents to just 188 yards passing a contest. The Tigers rank fifth in the nation in pass efficiency defense with a 94.7 rating as LSU has held opponents to an SEC-best 46.9 completion percentage.

Landry, a second team All-Southeastern Conference pick as a sophomore in 2004, has led LSU in tackles each of the past two seasons. As a rookie in 2003, Landry played in 14 games with 10 starts for the BCS National Champion Tigers. He recorded a team-high 80 tackles for LSU in 2003 and followed that with 92 in 2004.

For his career, Landry has recorded 216 tackles, eight interceptions, and six sacks.

Other semifinalists for the Thorpe Award include: Darnell Bing (Southern Cal), Greg Blue (Georgia), Darrel Brooks (Arizona), Dion Byrum (Ohio), Charles Gordon (Kansas), Roman Harper (Alabama), Michael Huff (Texas), Tye Hill (Clemson), Brandon Merriweather (Miami), Jimmy Williams (Virginia Tech) and Alan Zemaitis (Penn State).

This list of semifinalists will be narrowed to three finalists on Nov. 21. The winner will be announced on ESPN's College Football Awards Show, telecast live from Disney World in Orlando, Fla., on Dec. 8.

Tiger Blitz Top Stories