Green, Niswanger honored by league's coaches

Skyler Green and Rudy Niswanger, of the LSU football team, were honored by the Southeastern Conference's coaches on Wednesday. Green was named the Special Teams Player of the Year, while Niswanger was awarded the Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Green, a native of Westwego, La., finished second in the SEC in punt returns with an average of 13.6 yards per return. He totaled 23 returns for 313 yards, including a 66-yard return for a touchdown against Auburn.


The senior also had 18 kickoff returns for 355 yards. 


As a wide receiver, Green also caught 32 passes for 268 yards. He accounted for 1,047 all-purpose rushing yards on 84 touches this season. During his career, he tallied 3,182 all-purpose yards and 14 touchdowns.


Niswanger, who started 11 of LSU's 12 games this season at center, anchored the LSU offensive line for three seasons, guiding them to the 2003 National Championship and the 2005 SEC Championship game.


With a perfect 4.0 GPA, the two-time First Team Academic All-America, graduated Summa Cum Laude from LSU in May with a degree in Kinesiology and has already been accepted to the LSU Medical School.


Niswanger, a senior from Monroe, La., his many community activities include the SEC Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, the Cub Scouts and Boy Scouts, the Campus Crusade for Christ, the LSU player outreach program and volunteering to at LSU campus shelters for victims of hurricanes Katrina and Rita. 


On Tuesday night, Niswanger was awarded the Draddy Trophy, signifying the top scholar-athlete in college football by the National Football Foundation and Hall of Fame.


The SEC also honored Vanderbilt QB Jay Cutler as the Offensive Player of the Year, Alabama LB DeMeco Ryans as the Defensive Player of the Year, Arkansas RB Darren McFadden as the Freshman of the Year, Auburn OT Marcus McNeill with the Jacobs Blocking Trophy and Georgia's Mark Richt as the Coach of the Year.

Tiger Blitz Top Stories