Williams cleans up at football awards banquet

LSU defensive tackle Kyle Williams was named the recipient of the Charles McClendon Award as the team's most valuable player, head coach Les Miles announced at LSU's annual awards banquet on Sunday night.

Williams, a senior from Ruston, earned first team All-America honors in 2005 from Rivals.com and was a second-team selection by the Walter Camp Foundation and the Associated Press after leading the Tigers to a 10-2 overall mark and a runner-up finish in the Southeastern Conference.


Williams, who was also a first-team All-SEC pick, recorded 60 tackles, 7.5 tackles for losses and 4.5 sacks an LSU defense that ranked among the top 10 in the nation in four categories.


Sophomore quarterback JaMarcus Russell was named recipient of the Percy Roberts Offensive Player of the Year Award, while defensive tackle Claude Wroten was named the winner of the Percy Roberts Defensive Player of the Year.


Russell completed 188 of 311 passes for 2,443 yards, and 14 touchdowns for the Tigers. Wroten logged 45 tackles, 9.5 tackles for losses and five sacks for a Tiger defense that allowed only 15 points per game.


Return specialist Skyler Green was named LSU's Special Teams Player of the Year after ranking second in the SEC with a 13.6 average. Green also set the LSU record with punt returns for touchdowns in a career with four following his 66-yarder in the Tigers' win over Auburn.


Rudy Niswanger, who last week was named the winner of the 2005 Draddy Award, was named the Charles E. Coates Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Niswanger, who was also named the 2005 SEC Football Scholar-Athlete of the Year, graduated in May with a 4.0 grade point average.


Other award winners for the Tigers include defensive end Melvin Oliver as the Unsung Hero; linebacker Kenny Hollis and offensive guard Nate Livings as the Alvin Roy Strength and Condition Award recipients; fullback Kevin Steltz and snapper Gant Petty as the Butch Duhe Award winners; linebacker Cameron Vaughn as the George M. Wallace Award winner; and Chris Jackson and Daniel Francis as the Wild Tiger Award for their performance in special teams.


The coaching staff also handed out a special recognition award to senior offensive tackle Andrew Whitworth, who recently set the school record by starting in 51 games during his career. Whitworth, who hasn't missed a practice in five years with the Tigers, goes into the Miami game have started 51 consecutive games at left tackle.


2005 LSU Football Award Winners


Award                                                                                  Recipient


Unsung Hero                                                                      Melvin Oliver


Charles E. Coates Scholar-Athlete of the Year          Rudy Niswanger


Alvin Roy Strength and Conditioning                       Kenny Hollis, Nate Livings


Butch Duhe Award                                                          Kevin Steltz, Gant Petty


George M. Wallace Award                                             Cameron Vaughn


Wild Tiger Award                                                             Chris Jackson, Daniel Francis


Special Teams Player of the Year                                 Skyler Green


Percy Roberts Offensive Player of the Year               JaMarcus Russell


Percy Robert Defensive Player of the Year                 Claude Wroten


Special Recognition Award                                           Andrew Whitworth


Charles McClendon Most Valuable Player               Kyle Williams

Tiger Blitz Top Stories