Augustus takes SEC Player of Year

Seimone Augustus, a senior guard for the third-ranked LSU women's basketball team, was named the Southeastern Conference Player of the Year as voted on by the league's 12 coaches.

Augustus, the 2005 consensus National Player of the Year, was voted SEC Player of the Year for the second straight season. The Baton Rouge native led the conference in scoring with 22.4 points per game, was fifth in field goal percentage, sixth in free throw percentage and was eighth in minutes played.

"It is an honor for me to receive this award from the coaches," Augustus said. "There are many talented players in this league, but I know I could not have done what I did this season without my teammates."

Two of those teammates, Fowles and Hoston, were also honored by the league.

Fowles, a 6-6 sophomore center, joined Augustus as a unanimous first-team All-SEC selection, while Hoston, a 5-10 senior guard, was named second-team all-conference.

Fowles led the SEC in rebounding with 11.6 per game, was third in field goal percentage (62.1) and blocked shots (2.0), fifth in scoring (16.7) and ninth in steals (1.89).

Hoston, LSU's defensive stopper, finished eighth in the conference is steals to go with her 9.1 points per game.

Augustus and Fowles were joined by Georgia's Sherill Baker and Tasha Humphrey as unanimous selections.

Kentucky's Micki DeMoss was named Coach of the Year, while Tennessee's Candace Parker was Freshman of the Year.

LSU and the trio of honorees take a No. 1 seed into the SEC Tournament that begins Thursday in North Little Rock, Ark. The Lady Tigers have a first-round bye and will play either No. 8 seed Ole Miss or ninth seeded Arkansas on Friday at noon CST in Alltel Arena.

First Team All-SEC

Dalila Eshe, Florida

*Sherill Baker, Georgia

*Tasha Humphrey, Georgia

*Seimone Augustus, LSU

*Sylvia Fowles, LSU

Armintie Price, Ole Miss

Candace Parker, Tennessee

Shanna Zolman, Tennessee

Dee Davis, Vanderbilt

Second Team All-SEC

Navonda Moore, Alabama

Marita Payne, Auburn

Sha Brooks, Florida

Cori Chambers, Georgia

Samantha Mahoney, Kentucky

Scholanda Hoston, LSU

Melanie Johnson, South Carolina

Alexis Hornbuckle, Tennessee

Caroline Williams, Vanderbilt

All-Freshman Team

DeWanna Bonner, Auburn

KeKe Carrier, Auburn

Sha Brooks, Florida

Marshae Dotson, Florida

Carly Ormerod, Kentucky

Robin Porter, Mississippi State

Demetress Adams, South Caroloina

Candace Parker, Tennessee

Coach of the Year

Mickie DeMoss, Kentucky

Player of the Year

Seimone Augustus, LSU

Freshman of the Year

Candace Parker, Tennessee

Defensive Player of the Year

Sherill Baker, Georgia

6th Woman of the Year

Liz Sherwood, Vanderbilt

Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Sara Lowe, Florida

Tiger Blitz Top Stories