Brady a finalist for Nat'l Coach of the Year

LSU men's basketball coach John Brady, whose Tiger team captured the outright 2006 Southeastern Conference regular season championship, is one of 15 finalists announced by for the 2006 Jim Phelan national coach of the year award.

Brady's Tigers are 21-7 and 13-2 in the SEC heading into Saturday's regular season finale at the Pete Maravich Assembly Center against Ole Miss. Game time is 3 p.m. and senior day and pre-game activities will begin on the court at approximately 2:45 p.m.


Previously known as the national coach of the year, the award was renamed in 2003 to honor Mount St. Mary's legendary coach, Jim Phelan, who coached more games than anyone in the history of college basketball.


Joining Brady as finalists for this year award are: Jim Calhoun, Connecticut; Jamie Dixon, Pittsburgh; Mark Few, Gonzaga; John Giannini, LaSalle; Mark Gottfried, Alabama; Karl Hobbs, George Washington; Ben Howland, UCLA; Mike Krzyzewski, Duke; Thad Matta, Ohio State; Bruce Pearl, Tennessee; John Thompson III, Georgetown; Bruce Weber, Illinois; Roy Williams, North Carolina; and, Jay Wright, Villanova.


Previous winners of the award include Tubby Smith (Kentucky, 2005), Phil Martelli (St. Joseph's, 2004) and Mark Slonaker (Mercer, 2003).


A 20-member panel, chaired by Phelan, selects the winner. ESPN's Jay Bilas and former University of Kentucky All-American Kyle Macy headline the panel. All final ballots will be cast by March 12 and the winner will be announced at the NCAA Final Four.

Tiger Blitz Top Stories