Augustus named All-American, Fowles 3rd team

Less than 24 hours after leading LSU's women's basketball team back to the NCAA Final Four, Seimone Augustus was named first-team All-American by the Associated Press and Sylvia Fowles earned third-team honors.

Augustus, a 6-1 senior guard for the Lady Tigers, was the only unanimous selection on the five-member first-team. The Baton Rouge native is averaging 23.0 points and 4.8 rebounds per game this season, including 23.0 points and 6.0 rebounds in LSU's four NCAA Tournament games to this point.

"I feel good about this honor," Augustus said. "I think I've worked hard enough to be deserving of this. It's just a joy being able to go into other states and have people know who you are and appreciate what you're doing for the women's game."

Fowles, a 6-6 sophomore center, was named to the five-member third-team. The Miami, Fla., native is averaging 16.1 points and 11.6 rebounds overall this season and 12.3 points and 11.5 boards in the tournament.

Last season Augustus received the AP's National Player of the Year award and was a first-team All-American. Fowles was an honorable mention AP All-America selection last season.

The AP Player of the Year is announced this weekend at the NCAA Final Four in Boston, Mass.

LSU, which advanced to the program's third straight Final Four with a victory over Stanford on Monday night, will play either Duke or UConn in the national semifinal on Sunday in the TD Banknorth Garden.

Seimone Augustus, LSU, 6-1, senior
Ivory Latta, North Carolina, 5-6, junior
Cappie Pondexter, Rutgers, 5-9, senior
Courtney Paris, Oklahoma, 6-4, freshman
Sophia Young, Baylor, 6-1, senior

Jessica Davenport, Ohio State, 6-5, junior
Monique Currie, Duke, 6-0, senior
Candice Wiggins, Stanford, 5-11, sophomore
Candace Parker, Tennessee, 6-3, freshman
Crystal Langhorne, Maryland, 6-2, sophomore

Sylvia Fowles, LSU, 6-6, sophomore
Tasha Humphrey, Georgia, 6-3, sophomore
Khara Smith, DePaul, 6-2, senior
Kim Smith, Utah, 6-1, senior
Candice Dupree, Temple, 6-2, senior

HONORABLE MENTION (alphabetically)
Ambrosia Anderson, BYU; La'Tangela Atkinson, North Carolina; Sherill Baker, Georgia; Nikki Blue, UCLA; Melanie Boeglin, Indiana State; Tara Boothe, Xavier; Meg Bulger, West Virginia; LaToya Davis, Texas Tech; Jessica Dickson, South Florida; Megan Duffy, Notre Dame; Katie Gearlds, Purdue; Erin Grant, Texas Tech, Lindsey Harding, Duke; Tiffany Jackson, Texas; Tamara James, Miami; Erlana Larkins, North Carolina; Camille Little, North Carolina; Lyndsey Medders, Iowa State; Leilani Mitchell, Idaho; Noelle Quinn, UCLA; Jillian Robbins, Tulsa; Liz Shimek, Michigan State; Brooke Smith, Stanford; Ann Strother, Connecticut.Shona Thorburn, Utah; Tasha Williams, Louisiana Tech; Lisa Willis, UCLA; Shanna Zolman,  Tennessee.

Tiger Blitz Top Stories