Tigers close out spring with scrimmage

Check back to TigerRag.com for more spring practice wrap-up throughout the week.

Wide receiver Dwayne Bowe hauled in three touchdown passes Saturday as the LSU football team wrapped up spring drills with a two-hour scrimmage before 3,000 fans in Tiger Stadium.


Head coach Les Miles elected to put the Tigers through a 100-play scripted workout that saw the first-team defense go against the second-team offense and the No. 2 offense scrimmage against the No. 1 defense for most of the day. 


Seven starters did not see action either due to injuries sustained during spring drills or injuries suffered last season.


With the absence of the injured JaMarcus Russell, quarterbacks Matt Flynn and Ryan Perrilloux split repetitions and each got a chance to work with the first-team and second-team offenses.


"Both quarterbacks got equal reps all spring, and I think it's easy to see that there's real potential in the guys who played today," said Miles. "I think you're going to have to wait until the fall to figure out exactly how it's going to go. We don't really know how healthy JaMarcus is going to be and when his health returns fully."


Flynn connected on 12 of 26 passes for 167 yards and two touchdowns, and Perrilloux finished 11 of 26 for 145 yards and one score.


"In today's outing I think our quarterbacks looked good," said Miles. "They missed a couple of throws, but overall really operated the offense well and made some nice scrambles. They got out and made some throws and runs on plays that certainly make a difference."


Perrilloux entered in the fourth series of the scrimmage and immediately drove the Tigers down the field for a 65-yard drive, culminating with a 30-yard rollout pass to Brandon LaFell.


He later engineered a 50-yard drive against the No. 1 defense, concluding with a 30-yard touchdown pass to Bowe in the corner of the endzone.


Bowe then made a one-handed touchdown grab three series later on a 35-yard strike from Flynn, also against the first-team defense. The two later capped the scrimmage with a 25-yard touchdown pass, which gave Bowe 126 yards receiving on the day.


"Dwayne Bowe showed why he's a really great go-to guy," said Miles. "He's a guy who can go up in the air and get a ball, and our quarterbacks look for him so regularly."


Miles also praised the efforts of the defensive line, specifically defensive tackle Glenn Dorsey, who finished with three tackles and received the Jimmy Taylor Award for outstanding leadership, effort and performance.


"Glenn Dorsey stepped up, and with the graduation that occurred, he has the opportunity to take control of live play, and certainly he's done that," said Miles. "He's going to be a great leader and a tremendous player for us inside."


Linebacker Darry Beckwith led all Tigers with eight tackles and one sack. Freshman Jacob Cutrera, who enrolled at the beginning of the semester, made five tackles, and linebacker Ali Highsmith tallied four tackles and one sack for a loss of five.


Several reserve running backs saw valuable action due to the injuries of Alley Broussard, Justin Vincent and R.J. Jackson. Antonio Robinson made the most of the opportunity with 70 yards on 11 carries, including a 34-yard dash against the No. 2 defense.


Jacob Hester began the scrimmage with an 18-yard run and finished with 48 yards on 10 carries.


"Hester had a very strong spring at tailback," added Miles. "This is probably fewer touches than we've given him throughout the spring, and that's because we're very nicked at the position and we didn't want to get him hurt."


With the departure of Skyler Green on special teams, several skilled players went through some live snaps.


Chevis Jackson produced a 70-yard punt return down to the 13-yard line, and Trindon Holliday added a kickoff return of 66 yards.


2006 LSU Football Spring Scrimmage

Final Statistics



Player                                      Att.      Comp.             Yards   TD       Int.

Matt Flynn                                26        12                    167      2          0

Ryan Perrilloux                         26        11                    145      1          0



Player                                      Att.      Yards               TD       Long

Jacob Hester                            10        48                    0          18       

Antonio Robinson                     11        70                    0          34



Player                                      Rec.     Yards               TD       Long

Dwayne Bowe                          7          126                  3          35

Early Doucet                            5          55                    0          13

Carlos Rachel                           3          35                    0          16

Keith Zinger                             2          16                    0          11

Andrew Wright                         1          31                    0          31

Brandon LaFell                         1          30                    0          30


Defensive Leaders


Darry Beckwith            8 tackles, 1 TFL, 1 sack

Jacob Cutrera               5 tackles

Ali Highsmith                4 tackles, 1 TFL, 1 sack

Tyson Jackson              4 tackles, 1 TFL

Ryan Willis                   3 tackles, 1 TFL, 1 sack

Glenn Dorsey               3 tackles, 1 TFL




Patrick Fisher               4 att., 155 yards, 38.8 avg., 50 long, 1 inside the 5-yard line

Brady Dalfrey               3 att., 170 yards, 56.7 avg., 70 long, 1 inside the 5-yard line


Spring Football Awards


Alvin Roy Fourth Quarter Award

Peter Dyakowski

Shawn Jordan

Ali Highsmith

Daniel Francis

Tyson Jackson

Herman Johnson

Alonzo Manuel

Craig Steltz

Luke Sanders

Justin Vincent

Steven Korte

Jacob Cutrera

LaRon Landry

Tremaine Johnson


Eric Andolsek Leadership Award

Jacob Hester

Matt Flynn

Brian Johnson


Mike Miley Leadership Award

Jonathan Zenon

Ali Highsmith

Chevis Jackson


Toby Caston Performance Award

Jonathan Zenon

Ryan Willis


Ralph Norwood Performance Award

Matt Flynn

Jacob Hester


Most Improved Award

Darry Beckwith

Ciron Black

Brett Helms

R.J. Jackson

Brandon LaFell

Ricky Jean Francois

Quinn Johnson

Ryan Perrilloux

Jason Spadoni

Craig Steltz


Jimmy Taylor Award

Glenn Dorsey

Dwayne Bowe


Tiger Blitz Top Stories