Brady, Davis headline all-Louisiana team

Glen Davis, who helped lead LSU to its first Final Four appearance in 20 years, has been named Louisiana's Men's Basketball Player of the Year, the Louisiana Sports Writer's Association announced this weekend.

LSU head coach John Brady was named the state's coach of the year after guiding the Tigers to a 27-9 overall mark, a berth in the Final Four and the outright Southeastern Conference title with a 14-2 record. 

LSU's Tyrus Thomas, the MVP of the NCAA Atlanta Regional, is the freshman of the year for Louisiana, while Northwestern State's Luke Rogers, who helped the Demons to their first round upset of third-seeded Iowa in the NCAA Tournament, is the newcomer of the year.

Joining Davis on the All-Louisiana First-Team are Louisiana Tech's Paul Millsap, Clifton Lee of Northwestern State, Ricky Woods of Southeastern Louisiana and Thomas.

The second team is led by a pair of Mitchells, Darrel from LSU and Dwayne from Louisiana-Lafayette. Brion Rush from Grambling, Peter Cipriano of Southern and Fredricko Payne from LSU-Shreveport round out the second team.

Louisiana-Lafayette's Michael Southall leads the third team. He is joined on the third team by LSU's Tasmin Mitchell, Northwestern State's Jermaine Wallace, McNeese State's J.T. Williams and Tulane's Quincy Davis.


2006 Men's Basketball – All-Louisiana

First Team

Player (Votes)                                     School                                                   Stats

Glen Davis                                     LSU                                              18.6 ppg          

Paul Millsap                                   Louisiana Tech                                19.7 ppg, 13.3 rpg

Clifton Lee                                                              Northwestern State                                                  14.2 ppg, 6.4 rpg

Tyrus Thomas                                LSU                                              12.3 ppg, 9.2 rpg

Ricky Woods                                  Southeastern Louisiana                     17.8 ppg, 10.9 rpg


Second Team

Darrel Mitchell                                 LSU                                              16.4 ppg         

Dwayne Mitchell                               Louisiana-Lafayette                         16.6 ppg, 8.2 rpg

Brion Rush                                       Grambling                                       25.8 ppg, 7.0 rpg

Peter Cipriano                                   Southern                                       10.2 ppg, 8.5 rpg

Fredricko Payne                                 LSU-Shreveport                             20.0 ppg


Third Team

Michael Southall                               Louisiana-Lafayette                         15.0 ppg, 8.0 rpg

Tasmin Mitchell                                LSU                                              11.4 ppg, 5.6 rpg

Jermaine Wallace                              Northwestern State                         9.8 ppg, 3.0 rpg

J.T. Williams                                     McNeese State                             16.0 ppg, 5.6 rpg

Quincy Davis                                    Tulane                                          13.1 ppg, 5.8 rpg


Coach of the Year

John Brady (LSU)


Player of the Year

Glen Davis (LSU)


Newcomer of the Year

Luke Rogers (Northwestern State)


Freshman of the Year

Tyrus Thomas (LSU)

Tiger Blitz Top Stories