Augustus, Chatman lead all-Louisiana team

LSU's guard Seimone Augustus and head coach Pokey Chatman headline the 2005-06 All-Louisiana College Women's Basketball team announced Friday by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

Augustus, a 6-1 senior for the Lady Tigers, earned the Louisiana Player of the Year honor for the third straight year, while Chatman, a second-year head coach at LSU, was named Louisiana Coach of the Year for the second straight season.

UL-Lafayette's Yolanda Jones was named the Newcomer of the Year, while New Orleans' Jada Frazier and Louisiana Tech's Eboni Mangum received co-Freshmen of the Year honors.

Augustus was joined on the five-member First-team All-Louisiana selection by teammate Sylvia Fowles, Louisiana Tech's Tasha Williams and Aarica Ray-Boyd and ULL's Jones.

Southern's Rolanda Monroe, the SWAC Player of the Year, headed up the second-team. She was joined by Louisiana Tech's Ty Moore, Tulane's Ashley Langford, LSU's Scholanda Hoston, Grambling State's Juleen Smith and LSU-Shreveport's Jessica Kelly.

Augustus, the National Player of the Year by the Associated Press and the recipient of the Wade Trophy, the Naismith Trophy and the John R. Wooden Award, led the nation in scoring with 22.7 points per game.

Chatman guided LSU to a 31-4 overall record, a second straight Southeastern Conference regular season title and a third straight NCAA Final Four appearance.

Jones, a junior for the Ragin' Cajuns, averaged 18.1 points and 10.9 rebounds per game and was named the Sun Belt Conference's Newcomer of the Year and earned second-team All-SBC honors.

Frazier posted 9.5 points and 3.8 rebounds per game for the Privateers, while Mangum scored 7.5 points and grabbed 2.6 boards per game for the Lady Techsters.

All-Louisiana Selections First-team Seimone Augustus, LSU Sylvia Fowles, LSU Tasha Williams, Louisiana Tech Yolanda Jones, UL-Lafayette Aarica Ray-Boyd, Louisiana Tech

Second-team Rolanda Monroe, Southern Ty Moore, Louisiana Tech Ashley Langford, Tulane Scholanda Hoston, LSU Juleen Smith, Grambling State Jessica Kelly, LSU-Shreveport

Honorable mention Jennifer Sands, Tulane Brenita Williams, Southeastern Louisiana LaJeanna Howard, UL-Monroe Sheronda Bell, Northwestern State Lacey Cormier, Grambling State Fredrieka Lewis, Southern Jami Montagnino, Tulane Jada Frazier, New Orleans Eboni Mangum, Louisiana Tech Le'Della English, New Orleans Holli Wilkins, Centenary Tina Wilson, Southeastern Louisiana

Player of the Year - Seimone Augustus, LSU Coach of the Year - Pokey Chatman, LSU Newcomer of the Year - Yolanda Jones, UL-Lafayette Co-Freshmen of the Year - Jada Frazier, New Orleans/Eboni Mangum, Louisiana Tech

Tiger Blitz Top Stories