Augustus repeats as Honda Award winner

Seimone Augustus, a senior for LSU's women's basketball team, and last year's winner of the Honda Award for basketball, has once again been chosen this year as the nation's top collegiate female basketball player. The honor was based on the results of national balloting among 1,000 NCAA member schools as part of the Collegiate Women Sports Awards program, now in its 30th year.

Augustus' victory will earn her the Honda Award, given annually to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports as well as an automatic nomination for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year. She was voted over three other nominees: Ivory Latta, a junior at The University of North Carolina, Cappie Pondexter, a senior at Rutgers University, and Sophie Young, a senior at Baylor University. The candidates were selected by the Women's Basketball Coaches Association.

Recently named as the #1 draft pick for the WNBA (Minnesota Lynx), Augustus had a .568 shooting average from long range and a .459 three-pointer average, making 17 of 37 shots. During her senior year, she was named the National Player of the Year by the Associated Press, State Farm Wade Trophy, the Naismith Award and John R. Wooden Award as the nation's top player. Augustus was named the SEC Player of the Year and first team All-American, both for the second time as well as first team All-SEC this year. She was also named to the SEC All-Tourney team for the fourth year. Augustus had over twenty-six 20-point games this year and seventy-two for her career as well as scoring double digits in 132 out of 140 games, an NCAA record. She finished her career with 2,702 points and was the NCAA's active scoring leader this past season.

Seimone graduated in August 2005 with a general studies degree, but will earn a second degree for business this May. She hails from Baton Rouge, La.

Previously announced Honda Award recipients include Mary DeScenza and Christine Sinclair of the University of Portland for swimming and soccer respectively, Courtney Thompson of the University of Washington for volleyball, Caroline Bierbaum of Columbia University for cross-country and Paula Infante of the University of Maryland for field hockey. Honda Award winners in golf, gymnastics, lacrosse, softball, tennis, and track and field will be announced in the coming months.

The Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year will be determined by separate balloting involving all NCAA-member institutions and the winner will receive the Honda-Broderick Cup in New York in late June 2006.

Tiger Blitz Top Stories