Arnold named to Outland Watch List

LSU offensive guard Will Arnold is one of 54 players from across the nation named to the Outland Trophy Watch List, the Football Writers Association of America announced on Monday. The Outland Trophy has been awarded to the best offensive or defensive lineman in college football since 1946.

The winner is selected by the FWAA's All-America Committee, which also selects the association's 25-man All-America Team.


Last year, Minnesota's Greg Eslinger won the Outland Trophy.


Arnold, a junior from Gloster, Miss., earned second-team All-Southeastern Conference honors in 2005 despite playing in only eight games for the Tigers. Arnold missed LSU's games against Arkansas and Georgia before returning to the lineup to help the Tigers post a 40-3 win over Miami in the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl.


Against Miami, the Tigers rolled up 468 yards of offense, including a season-best 272 rushing yards, in the win over the Hurricanes. Miami entered the Peach Bowl ranked No. 2 in the nation in total defense and were allowing only 11.9 points a contest.


For his efforts in the win over Miami, Arnold was named the to All-Bowl team.


Arnold enters the 2006 season as one of two returning starters on the offensive line for the Tigers, joining fellow senior Brian Johnson. In two years of action with the Tigers, Arnold has started in 12 games and LSU has a 10-2 mark in those contests, which included a 6-0 record in 2005.


With Arnold's mention to the Outland Trophy Watch List, LSU now has players named to preseason lists for four national awards. Joining Arnold on national award watch lists are:  defensive back LaRon Landry (Nagurski and Bednarik Trophies); linebacker Ali Highsmith (Bednarik Trophy) and quarterback JaMarcus Russell (Maxwell Trophy).


The Tigers open their second season under Les Miles on Sept. 2 when LSU hosts Louisiana-Lafayette at 7 p.m. in Tiger Stadium.


Tiger Blitz Top Stories