Twelve Tigers selected preseason all-SEC

Will Arnold and LaRon Landry led the list of 12 LSU football players named to the 2006 pre-season All-Southeastern Conference teams selected by the coaches, it was announced by the league office on Thursday. Arnold, a junior OG, and Landry, a senior FS for the Tigers, earned a spot on the first-team,

Senior OT Brian Johnson, senior WR Dwayne Bowe, junior QB JaMarcus Russell, junior RB Alley Broussard, DE Chase Pittman, LB Ali Highsmith, SS Jessie Daniels and P Chris Jackson were named to the second-team. CB Chevis Jackson and DT Glenn Dorsey were selected to the third-team.

LSU led all schools with eight second-team selections and the Tiger's 12 overall selections ranked second behind Auburn's 14 players.

Landry, a 2005 first-team All-SEC selection by the coaches and the media, recorded 69 tackles in 13 games last season for the Tigers. He led LSU with three interceptions and collected eight pass-breakups.

Arnold, a 2005 second-team All-SEC selection by the coaches, played in eight games last season and allowed just two sacks and was called for one penalty.

LSU begins fall camp on August 7 and host Louisiana-Lafayette on Sept. 2 to open the season.

Tiger Blitz Top Stories