Tigers place eight on All-SEC team

Dwayne Bowe, JaMarcus Russell, Glenn Dorsey and LaRon Landry were named first-team All-Southeastern Conference to lead eight LSU Tigers in the league's post season honors selected by the 12 coaches.

Bowe, a senior WR, and Russell, a junior QB, were each named first-team offense, while Dorsey, a junior DT, and Landry, a senior DB, were first-team defensive selections.

Bowe led LSU with 60 receptions for 912 yards and 11 touchdowns this season. His 11 scores were second in the SEC and he placed sixth in receptions per game and receiving yards per game.

Russell threw for 2,797 yards and 26 touchdowns this season and completed 68.5 percent of his passes. The Mobile, Ala., native placed third in passing yards per game in the SEC and was second in touchdowns and yards.

Dorsey recorded 59 tackles, including 8.5 tackles for a loss and three sacks, while Landry led LSU with 68 tackles, including 3.5 tackles for a loss and he pulled in two interceptions.

Freshman TE Richard Dickson, sophomore DE Tyson Jackson, junior LB Ali Highsmith and senior return specialist Craig Davis earned second-team honors.

Dickson had six receptions for 96 yards in nine starts during the season. Jackson collected 35 tackles, including 10 for a loss and 8.5 sacks. Highsmith has 58 tackles with 5.5 for a loss. Davis averaged 14.2 yards per punt return and had a 77-yard return for a touchdown against Fresno State.

The All-SEC teams were selected by the league's 12 head coaches and the coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players.

Tiger Blitz Top Stories