Fowles named preseason candidate for Naismith

Sylvia Fowles, a junior center on LSU's ninth-ranked women's basketball team, was named among the 50 preseason candidates for the Naismith Trophy, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Monday.

The Naismith is an annual award which honors the national player of the year in men's and women's college basketball. LSU's Seimone Augustus won the award the past two seasons. Other notable winners include Diana Taurasi, Cheryl Miller, Chamique Holdsclaw and Sheryl Swoopes.

The Top 50 list, selected on last season's performances and expectations for the 2006-07 season, was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country. In January, the Board of Selectors will narrow the list to the Top 30 players in the nation. Those players, and others who distinguish themselves throughout the season, will be eligible for the final ballot in March.

Fowles averaged 15.9 points and 11.6 rebounds last season to help the Lady Tigers to a 31-4 record and a third straight NCAA Final Four appearance.

The Miami, Fla., native also leads LSU (10-1) this season with 16.5 points and 9.7 rebounds per contest, including a 18-point, 16-rebound performance against No. 5 Ohio State this past Sunday.

Tiger Blitz Top Stories