Fowles, Chaney, Hightower receive SEC nod

Sylvia Fowles, Quianna Chaney and Allison Hightower each received postseason honors from Southeastern Conference as the 2007 women's basketball awards were announced on Tuesday afternoon.

Fowles, a 6-6 junior center, was one of eight first-team All-SEC selections and was one of five there were unanimous as voted on by the league's 12 coaches. The Miami, Fla., native finished conference play ranked second in scoring with 17.5 points per game, first in rebounds with 15.3, second in blocked shots with 2.14, and fifth in field goal percentage with a clip of 54.4. Fowles also became the first player in league history to record a double double in all 14 conference games.


"It is a great individual honor within the confines of some team success," LSU head coach Pokey Chatman said. "When you look at what Sylvia has done in her career here and to come out and be first-team All-SEC facing double and triple teams is tremendous for her."


Chaney, a 5-11 junior guard, was one of eight second-team All-SEC selections. The Baton Rouge native averaged 13.6 points, 2.6 rebounds and 2.0 assists in the 14 SEC contests. She also knocked down 20 of 50 shots from three-point range in conference games.


"With Quianna you look at the evolution of Q in terms of her physical body and now her mental basketball has caught up," Chatman added. "It is a great way to cap off the hard work she has put in with this honor."


Hightower, a 5-10 guard, earned one of eight spots on the SEC All-Freshman team. The Arlington, Texas, native averaged 7.1 points and 2.4 rebounds in the 14 conference games, while hitting 85.0 percent of her free throw attempts against league opponents.


"We knew when we recruited Allison that she was a special player," Chatman said. "To come here at this level with high expectations and be able to contribute to our team is tremendous. She is going to continue to get better because she works so hard."


Fowles, who also earned first-team All-SEC last season, is the ninth LSU player to repeat as a first-team selection.


Joining Fowles as unanimous selections on the first-team were Georgia's Tasha Humphrey, Ole Miss' Armintie Price, Vanderbilt's Carla Thomas and the SEC Player of the Year Candace Parker of Tennessee.


Auburn's DeWanna Bonner, Tennessee's Alexis Hornbuckle ad Vanderbilt's Dee Davis completed the first-team.


Price was also named Defensive Player of the Year, while Georgia's Christy Marshall and Vanderbilt's Liz Sherwood were both named 6th Woman of the Year. Arkansas' Sarah Pfeifer was named the SEC Women's Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year.


Tennessee head coach Pat Summitt, in her 33rd season with the Lady Vols, was named SEC Coach of the Year.


LSU opens the 2007 SEC Tournament on Friday at 6 p.m. CST in the second round as the No. 4 seed. The Lady Tigers will play either fifth-seeded Ole Miss or No. 12 Alabama in the Gwinett Center in Duluth, Ga.

Tiger Blitz Top Stories