Super Tiger Bowl slated for Saturday - NOON

With a new format and Super Bowl champions serving as guest coaches, the first-ever Super Tiger Bowl will be held on Saturday in Tiger Stadium as LSU will host its spring football game at noon.

The contest will be broadcast on 100.7 FM in Baton Rouge as well as in the Geaux Zone on Tickets for the Super Tiger Bowl are free as fans can pick up coupons to redeem for their free tickets at the following locations: Tiger Mania, participating Associated Grocers and in the Advocate. Fans can also print the redeemable coupons on


The coupons must be redeemed at the LSU Ticket Office prior to gameday. Those tickets will also be good for free admission to LSU softball and the LSU relays that weekend. Super Tiger Bowl tickets are $5 without a coupon. Those fans who do not redeem their coupons prior to gameday will also be charged $5.


The Super Tiger Bowl is the highlight of a big day on campus on Saturday as the ninth-ranked softball team hosts second-ranked Alabama in a doubleheader starting at 1 p.m., while the LSU baseball team hosts Kentucky at Alex Box Stadium at 4 p.m. In addition, LSU's nationally-ranked track and field team will host the LSU Relays at Bernie Moore Stadium.


Other events surrounding the Super Tiger Bowl include a one-hour pregame radio show hosted by Jim Hawthorne and Doug Moreau starting at 11 a.m. The pregame radio show will be held in Tiger One, which will be located outside the Maravich Assembly Center. Guests for the pregame show include LSU head coach Les Miles as well as several former Tigers, including Joseph Addai, Kevin Faulk and Booger McFarland.


In addition, the band Artemis will perform at Tiger One Village starting at 10:30 a.m.


On the field, the spring game will consist of four 15-minute quarters and will feature the White Team against the Purple Team. The first half will be run just a like a regular game, while there will be an option for a running clock in the second half.  


The White Team will be led offensively by quarterback Ryan Perrilloux, running backs Charles Scott and Alley Broussard and wide receivers Brandon LaFell, Trindon Holliday and Jared Mitchell.


Defensively, the White unit will feature linebacker Darry Beckwith, defensive tackle Marlon Favorite, cornerback Chevis Jackson and safety Craig Steltz.


Sean Gaudet and Patrick Fisher will handle the kicking duties for the White Team.


The Purple Team's offense will paced by quarterback Matt Flynn, running backs Keiland Williams, Richard Murphy and Jacob Hester along with wide receiver Early Doucet.


On defense, the Purple squad will feature a dominating offensive line led by ends in Tyson Jackson and Kirston Pittman and tackles Al Woods and Charles Alexander. Luke Sanders and Jacob Cutrera will play linebacker for the Purple, while Jonathan Zenon, Jai Eugene, Curtis Taylor and Harry Coleman will handle the secondary.


Colt David will serve as the placekicker for the Purple.

Tiger Blitz Top Stories