TOP 10: Best Bowl Wins

In today's installment of Tiger Rag's Top 10, we rank the top bowl victories in LSU history. Tomorrow, we highlight the top "road wins."



The best bowl victories in LSU history

1. 2004 Sugar Bowl – LSU 21, Oklahoma 14

Behind a suffocating defense that limited the nation's top scoring offense to only 154 yards, the Tigers claimed their second national title in football with a 21-14 win over Oklahoma in the Sugar Bowl. The victory in the BCS National Championship contest marked LSU's first national title since 1958 and also gave the Tigers, champions of the Southeastern Conference, a final overall record of 13-1. Running back Justin Vincent earned MVP honors for the game, rushing for 117 yards and one touchdown in leading the Tigers to the victory.


2. 1959 Sugar Bowl – LSU 7, Clemson 0

Paul Dietzel's great national champions closed LSU's first undefeated, untied season in 50 years with a thrilling victory over Clemson. It was the Bayou Bengals' first Sugar Bowl victory and couldn't have come in a sweeter year. Billy Cannon threw a 9-yard scoring pass to Mickey Mangham in the third quarter, and the Chinese Bandits held Clemson in check for the victory.


3. 1966 Cotton Bowl – LSU 14, Arkansas 7

Pat Screen took over for the injured Nelson Stokley and directed the Tigers to a great upset over second-ranked and unbeaten Arkansas. Joe Labruzzo ran 3 yards for one score and went over from a yard out for the other. The Razorbacks scored on Jon Brittenum's 16-yard pass to Bobby Crockett, but a Jerry Joseph interception stopped the Hogs' last chance in the game and ended a 22-game Arkansas win streak.


4. 1963 Cotton Bowl – LSU 13, Texas 0

The defense-minded Tigers gave Charlie McClendon a victory over the previously undefeated Longhorns in Mac's first bowl appearance as head coach. Lynn Amedee kicked field goals of 23 and 37 yards, and Jimmy Field ran 22 yards for the game's only touchdown. All-Americans Fred Miller and Jerry Stovall joined Amedee as the stars of the game.


5. 2005 Peach Bowl – LSU 40, Miami 3

Matt Flynn, subbing for an injured JaMarcus Russell, threw for 196 yards and a pair of touchdowns in leading 10th-ranked LSU to its most lopsided bowl victory ever in a 40-3 win over ninth-ranked Miami in the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl. Joseph Addai, playing in his final game in an LSU uniform, rushed for 130 yards and a score as the Tigers dominated the final three quarters of the contest.


6. 2007 Sugar Bowl – LSU 41, Notre Dame 14

JaMarcus Russell threw for 332 yards and a pair of touchdowns, and the Tiger defense shut down Notre Dame's potent offensive attack in a 41-14 win over the Irish in the 2007 Allstate Sugar Bowl in New Orleans. In a game that featured two of the nation's top quarterbacks in Russell and Brady Quinn, it was the LSU quarterback who held the upper hand, outplaying his Notre Dame counterpart. In one of his best overall performances as a Tiger, Russell accounted for nearly 350 yards of offense and three LSU scores, including two in the first half as the Tigers led 21-14 at halftime. For the game, Russell completed 21 of 34 passes, while Quinn was just 15-of-35 with two interceptions.


7. 1968 Sugar Bowl – LSU 20, Wyoming 13

A topsy-turvy year for the Tigers ended in a comeback win over the previously unbeaten Cowboys. Glenn Smith came off the bench to spark the victory and became the first sophomore in Sugar Bowl history to win the MVP award. Nelson Stokley threw touchdown passes of 35 and 14 yards to Tommy Morel, and Smith ran 1 yard for the other score on a chilly and rainy New Orleans afternoon.


8. 2000 Peach Bowl – LSU 28, Georgia Tech 14

Rohan Davey came off the bench in the second half to lead the Tigers to a 28-14 come-from-behind win over Georgia Tech in the Peach Bowl. Trailing 14-3 at halftime, Davey started the second half and led the Tigers to a TD on the first possession. In all, Davey threw three second-half TD passes, tying an LSU bowl record, and he finished the contest with 17 completions in 25 attempts for 174 yards.


9. 1944 Orange Bowl – LSU 19, Texas A&M 14

The war-time Tigers went to Miami despite a 5-3 season, thanks largely to the presence of Steve Van Buren. The red-haired sensation ran and passed for two first quarter touchdowns and sewed up the victory with a 63-yard scoring run in the third period. It was Van Buren's 16th touchdown of the season, a mark that stood until Charles Alexander ran for 17 in 1977.


10. 1962 Orange Bowl – LSU 25, Colorado 7

Amidst rumors that Paul Dietzel was leaving LSU, the Tigers romped behind Earl Gros, Wendell Harris and Jerry Stovall. All-America guard Roy Winston was outstanding as the Go Team, White Team, and Chinese Bandits dominated the Buffalos. Charley White Cranford, Jimmy Field and Gene Sykes scored touchdowns for the Tigers, and Harris kicked a 30-yard field goal.


Honorable Mention:

1971 Orange Bowl – Nebraska 17, LSU 12

2002 Sugar Bowl – LSU 47, Illinois 34

1995 Independence Bowl – LSU 45, Michigan State 26

1965 Sugar Bowl – LSU 13, Syracuse 10

1968 Peach Bowl – LSU 31, Florida State 27

Tiger Blitz Top Stories