PHOTO GALLERY: LSU Hall of Fame Luncheon

Here is a complete photo gallery from Tuesday's LSU Hall of Fame Luncheon honoring inductees Kevin Mawae, Dr. Nacho Albergamo, Dr. Eddy Furniss and Marie Ferdinand-Harris.

(All photos by Matt Deville)

Charles McClendon, who will be inducted posthumously, is the first coach elected to the LSU Athletic Hall of Fame under a new provision that allows for the induction of coaches or administrators who have made significant impact on LSU sports.

McClendon, the winningest coach in LSU football history, led LSU to a record of 137-59-7 while serving as head coach from 1962-79. Also an assistant coach at LSU from 1953-61, McClendon led the Tigers to the 1970 Southeastern Conference championship and 13 bowl appearances. He was the 1970 National Coach of the Year and was twice named SEC Coach of the Year.

Following his career at LSU, McClendon served as executive director of the Tangerine Bowl and was later the president of the American Football Coaches Association.

He was inducted into the National Football Foundation's College Hall of Fame in 1986, won the Amos Alonzo Stagg Award for service to college football in 1992, and was given a Lifetime Achievement Award at the Paul Bryant Coach of the Year ceremony in 2001. McClendon died in 2001 at the age of 78 after a lengthy battle with cancer.

Tiger Blitz Top Stories