Mitchell named preseason All-SEC

On the eve of Southeastern Conference media days, the media panel voting on the pre-season league results named LSU junior Tasmin Mitchell second-team All-SEC.

Mitchell, teammate Garrett Temple and Coach John Brady along with members of the LSU Lady Tigers will take part in the opening session of the annual SEC Tipoff Media Days. The Tigers will be joined by Arkansas and two-time defending national champion, Florida, in the first set of three teams to appear at the Birmingham Marriott beginning at 10:30 a.m.

Tennessee was predicted to win its ninth Southeastern Conference men's basketball championship in a voting of a select panel of both SEC and national media members. Each SEC school selected two media members that cover their team and six additional writers from across the nation were selected by the conference office to form the 30-member voting panel.

Tennessee was a unanimous selection to win the East with 180 total points (30 first-place votes), ahead of second-place Kentucky's 142 points.  Kentucky returns nine letterwinners and three starters from last year's 22-win team for new coach Billy Gillispie. Florida, Vanderbilt, Georgia and South Carolina round out the top six. 

In the West, Arkansas was first with 168 total points (18 first-place votes) compared to Mississippi State's 148 points (10 first-place votes). Alabama and Auburn each received a first-place vote. Alabama, Auburn, LSU and Ole Miss round out the top six in the West.

Tennessee senior guard Chris Lofton was the overwhelming choice of the media for SEC Men's Basketball Player of the Year with 27 votes, followed by two votes for Mississippi State junior guard/forward Jamont Gordon. Joining Lofton and Gordon on the All-SEC First Team were Alabama junior forward Richard Hendrix, Arkansas sophomore guard Patrick Beverley and Vanderbilt senior guard/forward Shan Foster. 

Arkansas senior center Steven Hill, LSU's Mitchell, Ole Miss senior center Dwayne Curtis, Mississippi State senior forward/center Charles Rhodes and Tennessee sophomore forward Tyler Smith are on the second team.

Points were compiled on a 6-5-4-3-2-1 basis for each division.  Each media member also voted for one team as an overall conference champion and a five-player All-SEC Team. 

The 2007-08 SEC Media Preseason Poll tips off SEC Basketball Media Days, October 24-25 at the Birmingham Marriott in Alabama. The 2007-08 season begins November 6, with conference play set to begin January 8.  The 2008 SEC Tournament will be held March 13-16 at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta, Ga.


Preseason Media Poll (First-Place Votes in Parentheses; *-unanimous selection) 

SEC Champion: Tennessee (28); Mississippi State (2)


Eastern Division        2006-07 Results

                          Poll  SEC   Overall

Tennessee* (30)   180   10-6  24-11

Kentucky    142   9-7   22-12

Florida           103   13-3  35-5

Vanderbilt  98    10-6  22-12

Georgia           69    8-8   19-14

South Carolina    38    4-12  14-16


Western Division  2006-07 Results

            Poll  SEC   Overall

Arkansas (18)     168   7-9   21-14

Miss. State (10)  148   8-8   21-14

Alabama (1) 111   7-9   20-12

Auburn (1)  94    7-9   17-15

LSU         63    5-11  17-15

Ole Miss    46    8-8   21-13


FIRST TEAM ALL-SEC                  Pos.  Ht.   Wt.   Cl.   Hometown

Richard Hendrix, Alabama            F     6-8   265   So.   Athens, Ala.

Patrick Beverley, Arkansas          G     6-1   180   So.   Chicago, Ill.

Jamont Gordon, Mississippi State    G/F   6-4   230   Jr.   Nashville, Tenn.

Chris Lofton, Tennessee*            G     6-2   200   Sr.   Maysville, Ky.

Shan Foster, Vanderbilt             G/F   6-6   205   Sr.   Kenner, La.


SECOND TEAM ALL-SEC           Pos.  Ht.   Wt.   Cl.   Hometown

Steven Hill, Arkansas               C     7-0   245   Sr.   Bronson, Mo.

Charles Rhodes, Mississippi State   F/C   6-8   245   Sr.   Jackson, Miss.

Tasmin Mitchell, LSU                F     6-7   230   Jr.   Denham Springs, La.

Dwayne Curtis, Ole Miss       C     6-8   262   Sr.   Chicago, Ill.

Tyler Smith, Tennessee              F     6-7   215   So.   Pulaski, Tenn.

Tiger Blitz Top Stories