Ten Tigers Named to All-SEC Teams

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- SEC Champion LSU had a league-high 10 representatives on the 2007 All-Southeastern Conference Coaches' Football Team, while also leading with seven members on the first team, the league office announced on Tuesday.

Eleven of the 12 SEC schools had a member on the first-team All-SEC squad. Alabama and Arkansas had four players on the first team with South Carolina and Tennessee with three each, while Florida, Kentucky, Ole Miss and Vanderbilt had two.
Florida and Arkansas had the second-most players on both the first and second units with eight each, while Tennessee had seven. Florida had a league-high six players on the second unit followed by Arkansas, Mississippi State and Tennessee with four. Kentucky and LSU had three each.
Every SEC squad had at least two players represented on the first and second teams.
There were five unanimous selections to this year's All-SEC squad - Arkansas running back Darren McFadden, Kentucky linebacker Wesley Woodyard and the LSU trio of defensive lineman Glenn Dorsey, linebacker Ali Highsmith and safety Craig Steltz. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players, thus a unanimous selection earns 11 of 12 first-team votes.

The All-SEC squad had 13 first-team seniors and 18 underclassmen, including 11 juniors, six sophomores and one freshman. Georgia's Knowshon Moreno was the only freshman on the first team. On the second team, nine seniors were selected, 13 juniors, seven sophomores and three freshmen. Tennessee defensive back Eric Berry, kicker Daniel Lincoln and Auburn punter Ryan Shoemaker were the freshmen on the second-team. Arkansas' Felix Jones made the team twice, once as a first-team return specialist and once a second-team running back.
The SEC individual award winners will be released on Wednesday and the SEC All-Freshman Team will be announced on Thursday.

Tiger Blitz Top Stories