LSU Has More Players in SuperBowl Than Anyone

LSU will have five of its former football players on the field for Super Bowl XLII when the New England Patriots face the New York Giants on Feb. 3 in Phoenix, the most active players of any NCAA school.

In all, 20 former SEC players will take part in the contest. Outside of LSU, Tennessee is next with four participants, followed by Auburn, Georgia and Florida with two each.

Southern Cal and Marshall have four alumni on the active rosters -- each has a player on either injured reserve or a practice squad -- while the University of Miami (Fla.) has three players on actice rosters -- plus two on the Giants' injured reserve and one on the Patriots' practice squad.

Of the five Tigers playing the game, four will suit up for the New England Patriots with cornerback Corey Webster being the only former LSU player on the Giants roster. The Patriots with LSU ties include defensive tackle Jarvis Green, cornerback Randall Gay, linebacker Eric Alexander and running back Kevin Faulk.

Green and Faulk both have three Super Bowl rings to their credit, while Gay and Alexander have been a part of two championships. Gay and Alexander both were starters on LSU's 2003 BCS National Championship team.

In addition to the five players participating in the game, LSU will also have a presence on the sidelines as former Tiger assistant coach Pete Mangurian serves as tight ends coach for the Patriots. Mangurian, who was on the LSU roster as a player in the 1970's, coached the offensive line for the Tigers from 1983-87.

The following is a listing of former SEC players who will participate in Super Bowl XLII:

New England Patriots (13)
LB Eric Alexander, LSU
OT Wesley Britt, Alabama
RB Heath Evans, Auburn
RB Kevin Faulk, LSU
WR Jabar Gaffney, Florida
CB Randall Gay, LSU
DL Jarvis Green, LSU
WR Chad Jackson, Florida
DL Rashad Moore, Tennessee
DL Richard Seymour, Georgia
WR Donte' Stallworth, Tennessee
WR Kelley Washington, Tennessee
TE Ben Watson, Georgia

New York Giants (7)
CB Kevin Dockery, Mississippi State
QB Jared Lorenzen, Kentucky
QB Eli Manning, Ole Miss
LB Reggie Torbor, Auburn
CB Corey Webster, LSU
S Gibril Wilson, Tennessee
QB Anthony Wright, South Carolina

Tiger Blitz Top Stories