2nd in the West

Prior to the final day of Kickoff 2008, the Southeastern Conference media picked the LSU football team to finish second in the SEC Western Division behind Auburn (48-21). Additionally, eight Tigers were named to the media's first- or second All-SEC teams.

LSU offensive lineman Herman Johnson, defensive end Tyson Jackson, linebacker Darry Beckwith and placekicker Colt David were each named to the media's All-SEC Preseason First-Team. Tight end Richard Dickson, offensive lineman Ciron Black, wide receiver Demetrius Byrd and defensive lineman Ricky Jean-Francois were named to the second team.

The four Tigers first-team members tied Tennessee for the second-most behind Florida (5). Auburn had the most combined members with nine.

Florida was the favorite to win the overall league title, doubling Georgia's number of votes (36-18). Auburn was third with 13 first-place votes, while LSU, Tennessee and Ole Miss each received one vote to win the overall title.

Check back for details.

2008 SEC Media's Predicted Order of Finish

SEC Champion - Florida (36), Georgia (18), Auburn (13), LSU (1), Tennessee (1), Ole Miss (1).

No. School (First-Place Votes) Overall Points
Eastern Division
1. Florida (45) 98
2. Georgia (23) 121
3. Tennessee (2) 222
4. South Carolina 266
5. Kentucky 356
6. Vanderbilt 407

Western Division
1. Auburn (48) 99
2. LSU (21) 120
3. Alabama 228
4. Mississippi State 299
5. Ole Miss (1) 338
6. Arkansas 386

Tiger Blitz Top Stories