Tigers Tabbed 2nd in West

The LSU Tigers were picked to finish second in the Southeastern Conference Western Division and five LSU players were selected to the preseason All-SEC as chosen by a panel of 64 media members attending the SEC football media days here Friday.

Coach Les Miles and players Ciron Black and Jacob Cutrera appeared Friday morning on the final day of the three-day event at the Wynfrey Hotel.

LSU was chosen second behind Alabama in the voting with 145 points to the Tide’s 109. Ole Miss was picked third (149), followed by Arkansas (245), Auburn (309) and Mississippi State (387).  In the vote for SEC West winner Alabama received 33 first-place votes, Ole Miss 16 and LSU 15.

Black was named a first-team offensive tackle receiving 60 votes and the senior from Tyler, Texas received only one less vote on the first team offense than Florida quarterback Tim Tebow who received the most votes on the first team offense, 61.

Senior Charles Scott was the leading first-team vote getter at running back as the Saline, La., product received 59 votes as LSU’s other first team selection.

Senior wide receiver Brandon LaFell of Houston, Texas was named a second-team pre-season All-SEC wide receiver.

On defense, LSU had two second-team pre-season selections – senior defensive lineman Charles Alexander and junior defensive back Chad Jones. Alexander is from Breaux Bridge and Jones from New Orleans.

The Florida Gators were on 63-of-64 ballots for the winner of the SEC Championship Game and were on all 64 ballots to win the Eastern Division. Ole Miss was the only other team to receive an SEC Championship vote. Filling out the Eastern Division, Georgia was predicted to finish second, South Carolina third, Tennessee fourth, Vanderbilt fifth and Kentucky sixth.

Florida is the first team to be a unanimous selection to win a division since the league started divisional play in 1992.

Ten of the 12 SEC schools had a member on the first-team All-SEC squad. Florida had a league-high 12 representatives on the two teams, while Alabama had eight total selections. Georgia, LSU and Ole Miss each had five student-athletes on either of the teams followed by Arkansas, Auburn, Kentucky and Tennessee with three each.



64 total votes

SEC Champions– Florida (63), Ole Miss (1)

Eastern Division

1. Florida (64)        64

2. Georgia             133

3. South Carolina   217

4. Tennessee         258

5. Vanderbilt          317

6. Kentucky           355


Western Division

1. Alabama (33)     109

2. LSU (15)            145

3. Ole Miss (16)      149

4. Arkansas            245

5. Auburn              309

6. Mississippi State 387

Tiger Blitz Top Stories