LSU/MSU Post-game Notes

LSU held on for a 30-26 victory over Mississippi State on Saturday in Starkville to move to 4-0 and 2-0 in the SEC. Next up for the Tigers is a trip to Athens to face Georgia next Saturday at 2:30 p.m.

LSU’s team captains for today were Chad Jones, Charles Scott and Danny McCray.


Mississippi State won the toss and deferred so LSU received the ball to start the game.


Patrick Peterson intercepted a Tyson Lee pass on the Bulldogs’ first offensive play and returned it for a 37-yard touchdown. It was Peterson’s first interception of the year and second of his career. It was also LSU’s fifth interception of the year and the second taken back to the house for a score. There was a bad snap on the point after and LSU led 6-0.


Following an unsportsmanlike conduct penalty on Patrick Peterson after his interception return, Mississippi State drove 66 yards in nine plays and it took 5:27 off the clock. The point after gave the Bulldogs a 7-6 lead.


Brandon LaFell’s first quarter catch extended his streak to 32 consecutive games with a reception. That is the longest current streak in the SEC and fifth longest in the nation.


LSU moved out on top on Brandon LaFell’s 4-yard touchdown catch from Jordan Jefferson to answer MSU’s score. It was LaFell’s 18th career touchdown reception – fourth of the season – and it moved him to within eight scoring grabs of tying Dwayne Bowe’s school record of 26. Josh Jasper’s PAT made it 13-7 with 3:45 left in the first quarter.


Alex Russian snapped it high to Derek Helton on a fourth down punting situation with 55 seconds left in the first quarter and Helton didn’t catch the snap. He picked up the ball and was tackled at the 1-yard line.


On MSU’s first play, Anthony Dixon punched it in. The extra point gave the Bulldogs a 14-13 lead with 41 seconds left in the first quarter.


DeAngelo Peterson, who made his first career start on Saturday, caught his first pass of the year on the first play of the second quarter.


Chris Mitchell made his first reception of the season at the 11:17 mark of the second quarter.


LSU defensive tackle Drake Nevis recovered a fumble by Mississippi State running back Arnil Stallworth at the 25-yard line with a little less than eight minutes to play in the half. The Tiger offense bogged down at the 5-yard line after a first and goal from the 10. Josh Jasper then booted a 22-yard field goal to give LSU a 16-14 lead with 6:16 left in the first half. That was Jasper’s sixth field goal in as many attempts this season.


LSU forced Mississippi State to punt with a little more than three minutes left in the first half and Patrick Peterson ran into the punter and drew a roughing the kicker foul. That gave MSU a first down at the LSU 43-yard line. LSU’s defense came up with a stop on fourth down when Brandon Taylor intercepted a Tyson Lee pass on fourth and five.


Following Taylor’s interception, The Tigers took over at their own 17-yard line, but went three and out and gave the ball back to MSU at their own 25-yard line after Derek Helton’s 53-yard punt with 1:28 left in the half.


MSU drove to the LSU 32-yard line and Sean Brauchle lined up for a 49-yard field goal with 13 seconds to play in the half. Rahim Alem jumped offside and moved it up five yards, but the holder misplayed the snap and LSU dodged a bullet.


At the half, LSU led 16-14.


LSU running backs Charles Scott (3-8) and Keiland Williams (7-14) combined for 22 yards rushing on 10 carries in the first half. Russell Shepard led the Tigers with 26 yards on four attempts over the first two quarters.


Jordan Jefferson was 10-of-16 passing for 108 yards and a touchdown in the first half.


Brandon LaFell had four catches for 34 yards and a touchdown, and Terrance Toliver had three receptions for 48 yards. Five different receivers caught passes in the first half.


Defensively, Chris Hawkins led LSU with six first half tackles, while the Tigers’ leading tackler on the season – Harry Coleman – did not register a stop.


A few other first half team stats looked like:

LSU had 125 total yards, while MSU had 122

LSU rushed for seven yards, and MSU ran for 29 yards.

MSU turned it over four times – a fumble and three interceptions.


Mississippi State received the second half kickoff and LSU forced a three and out.


On the first play of the second half for the Tigers, Jordan Jefferson hit Brandon LaFell for a 58-yard touchdown. It was LaFell’s fifth of the year and 19th of his career. Josh Jasper’s PAT made it 23-14 with 13:30 to play in the third quarter.


LSU induced a punt on MSU’s second drive of the third quarter after the Bulldogs got down to the LSU 47-yard line. The Tigers, however, went three and out and gave it back to MSU.


MSU scored on the next possession on Tyson Lee’s 50-yard touchdown pass to Marcus Green with Karnell Hatcher in coverage. The point after cut the lead to 23-21 with 6:33 to go in the third period.


After Trindon Holliday’s 41-yard kickoff return, LSU moved down to the 7-yard line but once again the offense failed to punch it in and Josh Jasper missed a 19-yard field goal as Derek Helton bobbled the hold.


Mississippi State drove to midfield and Dan Mullen elected to punt on fourth and three from midfield. Chad Jones fielded the punt at the LSU 7-yard line and returned it 93 yards for a touchdown. Josh Jasper connected on the extra point and LSU led 30-21 with 14:36 left in the game.


Chad Jones’ punt return for a score was the first by LSU since Trindon Holliday returned a 92-yarder last season against North Texas.


On MSU’s ensuing drive, LSU’s secondary made another critical mistake on third and four when Brandon Taylor let O’Neal Wilder get behind him for a 46-yard completion to the LSU 21-yard line. The Bulldogs got down to the 10-yard line and the drive stalled at the LSU 5-yard line. MSU connected on a 22-yard field goal to trim LSU’s lead to 30-24.


The Tigers punted with 8:14 left after getting down to the MSU 37-yard line. Jordan Jefferson was sacked for a big loss and a third down pass went incomplete.


MSU took over at its own 20 and drove to the 44-yard line before having to punt. Chad Jones fielded the punt at the 4-yard line and was thrown down there.


LSU picked up one first down and looked to have picked up another when Jordan Jefferson hit Brandon LaFell. However, Jefferson took too much time and drew a delay of game penalty. His third down pass was off target and Derek Helton punted out of his end zone. MSU took over at the LSU 49-yard line with 3:53 left.


MSU got down to within a half yard from the goal line and missed on two straight plays and LSU took over with 1:08 left.


LSU burned 13 seconds off the clock and had to punt from its own end zone with 55 seconds left. Derek Helton took a safety and LSU kicked off from its own 20-yard line with 51 seconds left with the Tigers leading 30-26.


MSU took over at its own 32-yard line with 46 seconds to play. Tyson Lee threw four straight incomplete passes and LSU ran out the clock.


Final score: LSU 30, Mississippi State 26


Tigers extending their notable consecutive starts streak tonight were: LT Ciron Black (44), OG Lyle Hitt (24), LB Harry Coleman (17), RT Joseph Barksdale (17), TE Richard Dickson (17), RB Charles Scott (17) and CB Chris Hawkins (17). 


LSU scored a touchdown on offense, defense and special teams. It was the first time the Tigers accomplished that mark since 2002.

Akiem Hicks saw his first action of the season and recorded one tackle for a two yard loss.



Tiger Blitz Top Stories