Black's All-SEC first team

LSU left tackle Ciron Black was the lone Tiger to be named to the coaches All-SEC first team, which was released on Tuesday.

After a Freshman All-SEC season in 2006, the SEC coaches proved early on that they had a liking to Ciron Black’s play on the left side of the LSU line.

In both 2007 and 2008, Black ran his streak of consecutive starts at tackle to 40 straight. His dominating play earned him All-SEC second team honors in both seasons.

In a 2009 year in which Black turned down the NFL to return for his final semester of school, the Tyler, Texas native has earned All-SEC first team honors.

LSU wide receiver Brandon LaFell, cornerback Patrick Peterson and safety Chad Jones were named to the All-SEC second team.

LaFell, who had a Freshman All-SEC year in 2006 followed by a All-SEC first team selection behind 929 yards and eight touchdowns last fall, hauled in 52 catches for 705 yards and 10 touchdowns in 2009.

Alabama’s Julio Jones joined LaFell to make up the second team receivers. Georgia’s A.J. Green and Ole Miss’ Shay Hodge were named to the first team.

At defensive back, Auburn’s Walt McFadden and Kentucky’s Trevard Lindley joined Peterson and Jones on the second team.

The first team defensive backs were Tennessee’s Eric Berry, Florida’s Joe Haden, Alabama’s Javier Arenas and Alabama’s Mark Barron.

SEC Champion Alabama and SEC Eastern Champion Florida each had a league-high nine representatives. Alabama had eight members on the first team, while Florida had seven.

Georgia was next in line with seven players nominated, and the Bulldogs, Tennessee and Vanderbilt each had league-high four players on the second unit. LSU, Arkansas and Kentucky each had three.

11 of the 12 SEC schools had a member on the All-SEC first team squad, and every school had at least two players represented on the first and second teams.

The only unanimous selections to the squad were Florida quarterback Tim Tebow, Alabama running back Mark Ingram and Alabama linebacker Rolando McClain.

Trindon Holliday received only an honorable mention from the AP All-SEC team, falling short of the marks left by Vanderbilt’s Warren Norman and Alabama’s Arenas – who made the first team twice, once as a defensive back and once as a return specialist.

Norman, recognized on the second team, was the only freshman listed.

The SEC individual award winners will be released on Wednesday and the SEC All-Freshman Team will be announced on Thursday.

Another Look at the All-SEC Team (Rosters Included)

Tiger Blitz Top Stories