Dupree, Lloreda named to NABC All-District teams

LSU senior forward Ronald Dupree and junior forward Jaime Lloreda were named part of the All-District 8 team announced by the National Association of Basketball Coaches recognizing the country's best men's collegiate basketball student-athletes.

The teams were selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC. The 150 student-athletes from 15 districts are now eligible for the NABC Division I All-American team to be announced at the conclusion of the 2002-03 NCAA men's basketball season.

Dupree was part of the District 8 first team for the second straight season, while Lloreda was a member of the second team made up entirely of players from Louisiana.

Also on the first team with Dupree were Hector Romero of New Orleans, Michael Southall of Louisiana-Lafayette, Antonio Meeking of Louisiana Tech and Andrew Wisnewski of Centenary.

Joining Lloreda on the second team were Anthony Johnson of Louisiana Lafayette, Brandon Brown of Tulane, Amir Abdur-Rahim of Southeastern Louisiana and Kirby Lemons of Louisiana-Monroe.

Entering Saturday's game with Arkansas, Dupree is averaging 15.7 points per game, 7.9 rebounds and 2.6 assists while having his best season shooting from the field at 53 percent. Lloreda is averaging 12.3 points per game and 8.6 rebounds, second best in the Southeastern Conference.

A total of 13 others Southeastern Conference players made other district teams.

The Tigers and Razorbacks meet Saturday night at 7 p.m. at the Pete Maravich Assembly Center. Tickets for the contest are $10 each and are available at the LSU Athletic Ticket Office and on the Internet at

Tiger Blitz Top Stories