Women Win Tourney Via 69-47 Win Over SC State

Marshall center Modupe Ishola dominated play in the post to the tune of a career-high 22 points with 11 rebounds to lead the Thundering Herd women's basketball team to a 69-47 win over South Carolina State in the championship game of the Fifth Third MU Classic. In the consolation game, Ohio upended Tennessee State 74-69 at the Cam Henderson Center.

Ishola went 9-of-11 from the floor and 4-of-6 from the free throw line to lead Marshall (2-0) to its fourth consecutive Fifth Third MU Classic championship.

"I got a lot of great passes from the guards," Ishola, a junior, said. "I'm grateful to have guards that have confidence in me."

Ishola was named to the all-tournament team, joining tourney MVP Sikeetha Shepard-Hall, who registered back-to-back 16-point efforts over Tennessee State and SCSU. Shepard-Hall dished out four assists with four rebounds.

Modupe Ishola went up for two of her career-high 22 points in the win over SC State.

The Herd led the Bulldogs (1-1) by six points at halftime and, as was the story in Friday's win over Tennessee State, utilized a strong second half surge to blow the game open. Marshall shot 59.3 percent from the floor in the second half (53.8 percent for the game), and held SCSU to 31.6 percent for the game. MU's dominance on the glass was also evident by a 40-29 advantage.

Ishola was the catalyst of a 36-20 Marshall advantage in points in the paint.

"Modupe was outstanding on both ends of the floor," Herd head coach Royce Chadwick said. "Her presence was obvious.

"But I can't say enough about our senior leadership. Mary Pat Statler, Reshundra Smiley and Sikeetha Shepard-Hall are the ones getting it done for our program."

Statler went 2-for-2 from the floor (six points) while Smiley recorded a career-high five assists.

SCSU was led by all-tournament team member Melaney Denson's 18 points.

Fifth Third MU Classic Final Results:
1) Marshall, 2-0
2) South Carolina State, 1-1
3) Ohio, 1-1>
4) Tennessee State, 1-1

All-Tournament Team:
Rachel Frederick, Ohio
Obiageli, Okafor, Tennessee State
Melaney Denson, South Carolina State
Fallon Tucker, South Carolina State
Modupe Ishola, Marshall

MVP: Sikeetha Shepard-Hall, Marshall

Herd Haven Top Stories