Markel Humphrey Named To All-C-USA Team

Marshall junior Markel Humphrey was named All-Conference USA for the third consecutive year on Monday. Humphrey is Marshall's second leading scorer with 13.3 points per game and the second leading rebounder at 5.7 per game, despite playing the last two and one-half months with a stress fracture in his heel. Humphrey was named to the third team for the second consecutive year.

Markel Humphrey was also named to the All-Conference USA Freshman team back in 2005-06. Just this weekend, he passed the 1,000 career point mark in the Marshall game Saturday with Southern Miss, and now has 1,005 points all-time. He is Marshall's 44th 1,000 point scorer, and the Herd is tied for eighth nationally with 44 players in that category with Cincinnati, Wake Forest and West Virginia. His next rebound will give him 500 for his career, and should come on Wednesday when Marshall, the No. 8 seed in C-USA, meets No. 9 Tulane in the first round of the Conference USA Tournament in Memphis, Tenn., at the FedEx Forum. If Marshall beats Tulane for the third time this season, they will meet the No. 1 seeded, and No. 2 in the national rankings, Tigers of the University of Memphis.

After leading No. 2 Memphis to its third straight Conference USA title, the Tigers placed junior Chris Douglas-Roberts and freshman Derrick Rose on the 2008 Conference USA First Team. The pair is joined on the first team by Houston senior Robert McKiver and juniors Stefon Jackson of UTEP and Robert Vaden of UAB, as voted by the league's 12 head coaches and selected media. Douglas-Roberts and McKiver are repeat selections on the first-team, while Jackson earned a spot on the second team last season. Rose, a true freshman, and Vaden, a transfer from Indiana, are both newcomers to the league.

Douglas-Roberts and Rose have led the Tigers to a 30-1 record this season as the team's top two scorers, averaging 17.3 and 14.1 points per game, respectively. The duo appeared on the Mid-Season Watch Lists for a pair of national honors - the Wooden Award and Naismith Trophy. Rose is also a finalist for the Bob Cousy Award, recognizing the top point guard in the nation. Rose becomes the first freshman to earn first-team all-conference honors since former Tiger Sean Banks in 2004.

McKiver is the other repeat member of the first-team. The senior guard has recorded 16 games with 20 or more points, seven 30-point games and topped things off with a Conference USA record 52 points in a Cougar win over Southern Miss on Feb. 28. McKiver leads the conference in free-throw shooting (.886) and ranks second in scoring (23.1 ppg) and steals (1.77 spg).

Jackson leads the league and ranks sixth nationally in scoring, averaging 24.4 points per game for the Miners. The 6-5 guard scored a career-high 41 points in a conference match-up with East Carolina and tallied four other 30-point performances. As just a junior, Jackson enters the Conference USA Championship already ranked No. 17 on the Conference USA career scoring chart.

Vaden has set nearly every offensive school record in his first season with the Blazers. Averaging a league- and nation's-best 4.6 three-point field goals per game, Vaden broke the Conference USA single-season record for treys (138) in UAB's regular season finale against Memphis.

Central Florida junior Jermaine Taylor headlines the all-conference second team. Taylor registered four 30-point games this season and ranks fourth in C-USA with 20.7 ppg. Southern Miss sophomore Jeremy Wise, who became the fastest Golden Eagle to reach 1,000 career points earlier this season, is a repeat selection to the second team. The pair is joined by senior Joey Dorsey of Memphis, Tulane senior David Gomez and Tulsa sophomore Ben Uzoh.

Five different schools were also represented on the all-conference third team. Houston senior forward Dion Dowell and SMU senior guard Jon Killen were joined on the third team by junior forwards Lawrence Kinnard of UAB, Robert Dozier of Memphis and Humphrey of Marshall.

Only five of the 15 players that earned All-Conference recognition were seniors. Seven juniors, two sophomores and one freshman help comprise the squad. Marshall did not have any other players named, despite senior Mark Dorris being 10th in scoring (13.9 points per game), ninth in C-USA only scoring (14.2 ppg), first in steals (1,83 per game, 53 on the season) overall and in league only (2.0, 32 steals) and 14th in both three-pointers made (47) and free throw percentage (.759, 88-of-116) in the league. MU forward Tyler Wilkerson was another outstanding All-C-USA candidate. The sophomore is averaging 12.2 points per game in league games, 20th overall, and is third in league rebounding average with 7.6 per game, second in offensive boards and sixth in defensive rebounds. His .545 shooting percentage is fifth in C-USA games, while he is ninth in league game blocks with 20, an average of 1.25 per game.

Freshman Tirrell Baines is a candidate for the All-Frosh team, with an 11.4 points per game average and 5.7 rebounds per game as a true first-year player. He is shooting .529 from the field, ninth in the overall stats for the league, and is second in offensive rebounds with a 2.76 average on 80 rebounds off Marshall missed shots. Head Coach Donnie Jones of Marshall should receive strong consideration for Coach of the Year honors, taking a program that had not had a winning season wince 2000-01 to a 16-13 mark. The eight wins in the regular C-USA season are the most for the Herd in three years in the league, and Marshall won three road games in conference play for the first time in three years. Marshall's 8-8 league mark is the best since MU was 9-9 in the Mid-American Conference in 2002-03. The Herd knocked off Big South champ Winthrop, beat San Diego two days after the Toreros upset Kentucky and posted wins over second-place UAB, fourth-place UCF and No. 7 seed Tulsa, and a two-point loss to 22-9 West Virginia from the Big East, as well as winning three overtime wins for the first time since 1987-88.

Chris Douglas-Roberts, Memphis, G, 6-7, 200, Jr., Detroit, Mich.
Stefon Jackson, UTEP, G, 6-5, 180, Jr., Philadelphia, Pa.
Robert McKiver, Houston, G, 6-3, 197, Sr., New Haven, Conn.
Derrick Rose, Memphis, G, 6-3, 190, Fr., Chicago, Ill.
Robert Vaden, UAB, G/F, 6-5, 225, Jr., Indianapolis, Ind.

Joey Dorsey, Memphis, F, 6-9, 265, Sr., Baltimore, Md.
David Gomez, Tulane, F, 6-8, 235, Sr., Baton Rouge, La.
Jermaine Taylor, UCF, G/F, 6-4, 190, Jr., Tavares, Fla.
Ben Uzoh, Tulsa, G, 6-3, 190, So., San Antonio, Texas
Jeremy Wise, Southern Miss, G, 6-2, 165, So., Jackson, Miss.

Dion Dowell, Houston, F, 6-7, 205, Sr., Texas City, Texas
Robert Dozier, Memphis, F, 6-9, 215, Jr., Lithonia, Ga.
Markel Humphrey, Marshall, F, 6-5, 225, Jr., Atlanta, Ga.
Jon Killen, SMU, G, 6-4, 195, Sr., Arlington, Texas
Lawrence Kinnard, UAB, F, 6-8, 210, Jr., Memphis, Tenn.

Herd Haven Top Stories