Marshall Hall of Fame Inductions On Friday

On opening weekend instead of Homecoming, the Marshall Hall of Fame induction may be sneaking up on some Herd fans. But this Friday, there will be seven new members in what is a top group to make up the 25th anniversary class of the Hall, began in 1984. Tickets are available at the MU Ticket Office in the lobby of the Cam Henderson Center and are $30 each.

To buy tickets for the Marshall Hall of Fame dinner on Friday, fans can call with a credit card, or go online, at 1-800 THE HERD or The dinner is Friday, August 29, at 7 p.m. at the Marshall Memorial Student Center on Third Avenue and John Marshall Drive on campus. Keith Morehouse of WSAZ TV-3 will be the master of ceremonies for the outstanding class for 2008.

Assistant Marshall football coach Phil Ratliff will have to do double-duty this weekend, coaching the Herd's tight ends and tackles and being inducted into the MU Hall of Fame for his outstanding career as an offensive lineman between 1990-92 photo from

Phil Ratliff, an assistant coach on the staff of current Herd head coach Mark Snyder since 2006, was an All-American lineman from 1989-1992 for the Herd and he leads the class. Jim Donnan (1990-95), Ratliff's head coach from 1990-92, is also among this year inductees. Both Donnan and Ratliff had a large part in winning Marshall's first National Championship when Ratliff was a team captain for Donnan on that 12-3, 1992 team, winning Marshall's first national title since the 1946-47 men's basketball team won the NAIB National Championship in what is still today's NAIA championship tournament in Kansas City.

Marshall head coach Jim Donnan, who won 64 games and the 1992 National Championship with the Thundering Herd, will be one of seven new members inducted Friday into the Marshall Athletic Hall of Fame. photo from

Jim Donnan is number three in wins as the MU football coach with 64 total and is now with ESPN, doing color for games around the nation.

The weekend, the former coach of the Herd will do double duty this weekend, as Donnan enters the Hall of Fame and is calling the color on a broadcast for WOWK TV-13, who is offering the opener locally to the Huntington-Charleston market.

Byron Carmichael, the leading all-time goal scorer for the Ocean City (N.J.) Barons, has been elected to the Marshall Athletic Hall of Fame. photo courtesy of Ocean City Barons

The other members of the class include:
J.R. VanHoose, one of the all-time greats in men's basketball who played 1998-2002, and who is now coaching back at Paintsville, Kentucky, where VanHoose was a scholastic legend in basketball;
>Byron Carmichael, a three-time All-Mid-American Conference player and leading scorer all-time in men's soccer, playing 1999-2002, who now is the all-time scoring leader for the Ocean City Barons in pro soccer back in his native New Jersey;
Anna Mitina, one of the best-ever in women's tennis from 1999-2002, and the first women's tennis player honored by election to the Hall;

Anna Mitina, shown during her playing days, is the first Marshall tennis player to be inducted into the Marshall University Athletic Hall of Fame. photo from

Tom Kies, a three-time All-Southern Conference player for men's golf, and 1988 All-American, playing from each spring for the Herd from 1985-89, and;
William "Bill" Harris is last but certainly not least, named in the category of "Pre-1960s Thundering Herd Greats." Harris starred in both baseball and football, and also helped launch and compete at a high level on the fledgling wrestling program at Marshall, earning four letters in wrestling, three in football and one in baseball for eight total from 1952-56. The Cincinnati native is a long-time educator in the Queen City of the Ohio.

The inductees will unveil their new tiles in the "Walk Of Fame" at the Marshall Hall of Fame Cafe', on Third Avenue and Ninth Street, at 11 a.m. Saturday, August 30. After lunch, the new inductees will be the guests of the Marshall athletic participant's organization, the M Club, at the club's tailgate plaza located on the southwest corner of the Joan C. Edwards Stadium starting at 1:30 p.m.

J.R. VanHoose, shown leading Marshall to head coach Greg White's first win over West Virginia, finished his career with 1,803 points and 1,086 rebounds, the only Herd players beside fellow HOF member Charlie Slack with over 1,000 rebounds for Marshall. photo from

The class will be inducted in the pre-game, about 4:15 p.m., before the Herd kicks off the 2008 season with Illinois State at 4:30 p.m. All enshrined members of the Hall of Fame are invited to attend all the events, especially the introductions on the field when they can welcome the new members of the Marshall Hall of Fame to their special group. Just over 170 former Thundering Herd athletes, coaches and staff are members of the Hall.

Also at this weekend's opener for Herd football, you can present your Kroger Card and get $3 off a ticket on the day of the game. The official Nike game ball will be delivered to mid-field by the U.S. Army Fastrax Airborne Parachute team just after the Hall of Fame class is introduced. The first 5,000 fans through the gates Saturday will get a Marshall Football schedule magnets.

Call 1-800 THE HERD or go to and get your tickets for this weekend's OTHER big event beside the Marshall opener in football. We'll see you at the 25th Anniversary Class induction into the Marshall Hall of Fame, Friday night, 7 p.m. at the Marshall Memorial Student Union.

Herd Haven Top Stories