Maryland released official depth chart

The Maryland football team released their official depth chart on Monday, one week prior to their season opener against Atlantic Coast Conference rival Miami.

E-mail Sam
Follow Sam on Twitter

COLLEGE PARK, Md. The Maryland football team released their official depth chart on Monday, one week prior to their season opener against Atlantic Coast Conference rival Miami.

A.J. Francis, who started nine games a season ago, retook his starting defensive tackle job alongside preseason All-ACC selection Joe Vellano, after being penciled in as the second-stringer to redshirt freshman Andre Monroe following spring practices. Francis tied for third on the Terrapins with seven tackles for loss in 2010, and tied for fourth in sacks (2.5).

Here is the official Terps depth chart

Another veteran to earn a starting position was Isaiah Ross. A junior defensive end, Ross will play opposite David Mackall, the ROCK. Ross surpassed Clarency Murphy, a redshirt freshman, and Justin Anderson, who underwent surgery on his football and is expected to miss another month while recovering.

In the secondary, safeties Eric Franklin and Matt Robinson and cornerback Cameron Chism were named starters, as expected. Opposite of Chism, though, both Jeremiah Johnson and Dexter McDougle are considered starters.

Head coach Randy Edsall told reporters Saturday that Johnson took advantage of his playing time while McDougle missed time due to injury. Johnson, a redshirt freshman, earned consensus all-state honors in 2009 at nearby Suitland High School after recording 99 tackles and four tackles his senior season.

Trenton Hughes, who led the Terrapins with nine pass break-ups last year, will be the fourth cornerback.

The lone position battle along the offensive line between sophomores Josh Cary and Pete White was settled. Cary, the starter to begin summer practices, beat out White. Cary joins Max Garcia, Bennett Fulper, R.J. Dill and captain Andrew Gonnella, all of who have starting experience.

Tyler Cierski was named the starting fullback. The true freshman will take over following the graduations of Haroon Brown and Taylor Watson. Sam's No. 7-rated full back beat out transfer Jeff Hernandez.

Finally, the battle among the wideouts was settled. Senior Quintin McCree and junior Kevin Dorsey will be the starters, while Ronnie Tyler and Kerry Boykins will round out the top four. Edsall mentioned return specialist Tony Logan as a receiver who had an impressive camp, too.

Wideout was perhaps the biggest question mark on the team following the departure of last year's top receivers, Torrey Smith and Adrian Cannon, who have moved on to the National Football League. Among the returning receivers, McCree led the way with 188 yards and a touchdown in 2010. Dorsey's two touchdown receptions were tied for second on the team.

Special Teams

The departure of punter/kicker Travis Baltz, 2009 first team freshman All-American Nick Ferrara was named the starting place-kicker.

Ferrara lost his starting job to Baltz during the offseason last year due to a groin injury, but saw action in the final 11 contests. He served as the team's kickoff specialist, averaging 60.7 yards on kickoffs with five touchbacks.

True freshman Justus Pickett will serve as the team's starting kick returner. Pickett, a reserve running back, was the 2010 Southwestern 4A Conference Offensive Player of t he Year at Ardrey Kelly high School (N.C.). Redshirt freshman Jeremiah Wilson will back him up.

TerrapinTimes Top Stories