Kizer, Thomas Named to Wooden Top 30 List

Two Terrapins are named to the Wooden Preseason List.

Maryland women's basketball sophomore Alyssa Thomas and senior Lynetta Kizer were both named to the Wooden Preseason Top 30 List, announced Monday. Maryland is one of seven schools to land multiple players on the list.

The list is made up of 30 student-athletes who, based on last year's individual performance and team records, are the early frontrunners for college basketball's most prestigious honor. The list is chosen by a preseason poll of national college women's basketball media members.

Duke's Chelsea Gray, Florida State's Cierra Bravard, and Miami's Shenise Johnson and Riquna Williams were other ACC players named to the list.

Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation's best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his or her university that he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a minimum cumulative 2.0 GPA.

Transfers, freshmen and medical redshirts are not eligible for the preseason list. These players and others who excel throughout the season will be evaluated and considered for December's Midseason list and the official voting ballot released in March. The Wooden Award All American Team, consisting of the nation's top 10 players, will be announced the week before the Final Four.

The 36th annual Wooden Award ceremony will honor the Men's and Women's Wooden Award winners. It will include the presentation of the Wooden Award All American Teams and the Legends of Coaching Award, and will take place the weekend of April 9-11, 2012.

Thomas was named the 2011 ACC Rookie of the Year and was named to the All-ACC Second Team. She led the Terrapins in scoring (14.5 ppg) and was second in rebounding (7.4 rpg).

Kizer won a gold medal with USA Basketball's World University Games team this summer in Shenzhen, China. She was also named to the All-ACC Second Team at the end of last season.

For the full list of honorees, log on to

TerrapinTimes Top Stories