16 players selected to Unity Council

Al Golden likes to have a Unity Council for his football team every year. It's made up of several players on the team believed to have the leadership qualities to handle a lot of player issues before they reach the staff. This year's council, made up of 16 players, has been announced.

What exactly is the Unity Council?

"The purpose of the Unity Council is to act as a liaison group between the football team and staff. This group of players is selecting by the coaching staff and consists of multiple players from each classification. The council holds a weekly meeting and can convey whether certain situations need immediate attention," the school said in a statement this afternoon.

The 16 players to serve this year will be quarterbacks Stephen Morris and Kevin Olsen; wide receivers Allen Hurns and Herb Waters; offensive linemen Brandon Linder, Shane McDermott, and Sunny Odogwu; defensive linemen Shayon Green and Anthony Chickillo; linebackers Jimmy Gaines, Denzel Perryman, Raphael Kirby, Alex Figueroa, and Jermaine Grace; and defensive backs Ladarius Gunter and Tracy Howard.

These 16 players will work together with their teammates to resolve any internal issues that arise throughout the season. The group includes players from all areas of the country, every position, and every class.

Canes Time Top Stories