Kaaya Named To O’Brien Watch List

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – University of Miami sophomore quarterback Brad Kaaya was named to the 2015 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® Watch List today.

Kaaya joins two dozen of the nation's top college quarterbacks.

This year's list, which was compiled by a subset of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, was selected based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2015 college football season. All nominees were required to have started at least one game at their current institution previously.

Kaaya received the preseason honor after he authored one of the finest first-year campaigns in school history, while guiding the Hurricanes to their second-consecutive bowl appearance.

During his rookie campaign, Kaaya was the only true freshman quarterback in the country to throw for over 3,000 yards, 26-or-more touchdowns and 12-or-fewer interceptions.

In addition, Kaaya rewrote the Hurricanes’ freshman record book as he set the single season freshman standard for passing yards and touchdowns. He finished the year with 3,198 passing yards and 26 touchdown passes. His 26 touchdown passes from a year ago tied him with Heisman Trophy winning signal-caller Vinny Testaverde for third all-time.

This is the fourth preseason honor Kaaya has received this summer. In the month of June, he was named to both the Phil Steele and Athlon Sports Preseason All-Conference Team. Earlier in July, Kaaya was named to watch list for the 79th annual Maxwell Award on Tuesday by the Maxwell Football Club.

Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to win the Davey O'Brien Award. Quarterbacks from all 128 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award.

The field will be narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Nov. 2. From that list, the Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce the three finalists on Tuesday, Nov. 24. The 2015 Davey O'Brien winner will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 10.

The 2015 season marks the ninth year that fans will be invited to participate in the voting process. The Davey O'Brien Fan Vote will be combined with the results from the Selection Committee. Voting will begin on Tuesday, Sept. 1.

The 39th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held Monday, Feb. 15, 2016, in Fort Worth, Texas.

For the latest information on the Miami Hurricanes, follow us on Twitter and Instagram, @CanesFootball, or visit our web site at HurricaneSports.com. For the most accurate and up to date information delivered to your phone, download the official Miami Hurricanes app for your Droid or iPhone.

Season tickets to the 2015 Miami Hurricanes football season start for as low as $140 – visit CanesTix.com or call (305) 284-2263 for more information.

Canes Time Top Stories