Linder Named to Rimington Trophy Watch List

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – Junior center Nick Linder from the University of Miami football team was named to the Rimington Trophy Committee 2016 Fall Watch List on Wednesday.

Linder has now been honored twice by the Rimington Trophy Committee, as he was selected to the spring watch list earlier this year.


Linder’s honor, adds to an already growing list of preseason accolades, as he joins teammates Brad Kaaya and Joe Yearby, whom were selected to the Maxwell Preseason Award watch list earlier this week.


Linder earned the preseason recognition following a strong 2015 campaign, where he helped guide the Hurricanes to the 29th–best passing offense in the NCAA.


Known for his toughness in the trenches, Linder was one of just four players on last year’s team that started in every game. In addition, the Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., native helped anchor an offensive line that ranked eighth nationally in fewest tackles for loss allowed and tied for the third-fewest sacks allowed of any team in the ACC.


Linder will look to become the first Hurricane to win the award since All-American Brett Romberg did so in 2002.


The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2.6 million for the cystic fibrosis community.


The award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $120 million for the fight against cystic fibrosis.


Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.


For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit

Canes Time Top Stories