Badgley Named to Lou Groza Award Watch List

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – The Palm Beach County Sports Commission selected junior kicker Michael Badgley of the University of Miami football team to the 2016 Lou Groza Preseason Watch List Thursday morning.

Badgley is one of 30 players named to the preseason watch list and is one of just 19 past semifinalists on this year’s list.


Badgley’s honor adds to a growing list of preseason accolades for the Hurricanes, as he joins teammates Brad Kaaya and Joe Yearby, whom were selected to the Maxwell Preseason Award Watch List and Nick Linder, who was named to the Rimington Trophy watch list earlier this week.


The New Jersey native was selected to the preseason watch list following a near perfect 2015 campaign.


In 2015, Badgley finished the season 25-of-30 in field goal attempts and was a perfect 40-for-40 in extra point attempts. Badgley set the school record with 25 made field goals, improving on the previous school record of 22 set in 2003 by Jon Peattie.


Following the 2015 season, Badgley earned All-ACC Third Team honors from the coaches and All-ACC honorable mention from ACSMA.


The Award is named for National Football League Hall of Fame kicker Lou “The Toe” Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships with Cleveland and was named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. Although an All-Pro offensive lineman as well, Groza ushered in the notion that there should be a place on an NFL roster for a kicker.


While the watch list highlights 30 of the best returning kickers in the country, the Groza Committee will be watching all FBS kickers during the season, and releasing a weekly “Stars of the Week” feature on All FBS kickers remain eligible to be selected as semifinalists.


Accomplishments are tabulated throughout the season and the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award will announce its 20 semifinalists on Thursday, Nov. 3. From that list, a panel of more than 100 FBS head coaches, SIDs, media members, former Groza finalists, and current NFL kickers will select the top three finalists for the award by Tuesday, Nov. 22. That same group then selects the national winner, who will be announced on Thursday, Dec. 8 during the Home Depot College Football Awards Show.


The 25th Annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, presented by the Orange Bowl Committee, recognizes the three finalists during a celebration in Palm Beach County, culminating with a gala awards banquet on Dec. 5.


Canes Time Top Stories