CORAL GABLES, Fla. – Miami was among those football teams recognized by the Foundation for Teamwork on the midseason Joe Moore Award Honor Roll, identifying notable performances by offensive line units in games played through October 8.

Joining Miami on the Honor Roll were (in alphabetical order): Air Force, Alabama, Auburn, Clemson, LSU, Michigan, Nebraska, Ohio State, Pittsburgh, Texas A&M, USC, Virginia Tech, Washington, Washington State, Western Michigan and Wisconsin. The Honor Roll teams have a combined record of 79-16 and include 11 of the top 25 teams in the latest AP Top 25 Poll.

The Joe Moore Award Honor Roll includes units that display a high level of toughness, effort, teamwork, consistency, technique, and “finishing”.  Statistics, including those supplied by the universities (i.e. knockdowns), are used to merely support observations made about the technique and effort displayed in the game film, and play no factor in how OL units are evaluated. 

Miami’s offensive line unit, which has started the same five players in each of its first five games, ranks seventh nationwide and second in the ACC in tackles for loss allowed (3.60 per game) and 14th nationwide and third in the ACC in sacks allowed (1.00).

“As we review the film, we are looking to see which units are not only using good technique, but also for those that show intensity and a willingness to compete and finish,” said Mike Golic Jr., who played guard at Notre Dame and now hosts “First and Last” on ESPN Radio with Robin Lundberg. “We are especially working to identify units that can do this consistently every game.”

About Miami, the Honor Roll states, “The Hurricanes rank 2nd in the ACC in scoring with an average of 41.4 points per game. The Miami O-line unit has only given up five sacks on the season and their QB has been pressured on only 11.31% of drop backs.  In the running game, the ‘Canes are averaging nearly 200 yards per game and 6.2 yards per carry, while yielding only 18 tackles for loss.”

“So far, there has not been one unit that has clearly stood out as the best offensive line in college football,” said Aaron Taylor, CBS CFB Analyst and Chairman of the Joe Moore Award Voting Committee. “We have noticed the teams on the Midseason Honor Roll, but they all have a lot of work to do in order to win the Joe Moore Award.”

About the Joe Moore Award

The JOE MOORE AWARD is named after Joe Moore, widely regarded as one of the best offensive line coaches in college football history, and is the only major college football award to honor a unit.  The award annually recognizes the nation’s Most Outstanding Offensive Line Unit that best displays toughness, effort, teamwork, physicality, tone setting and finishing. The voting committee is comprised solely of people who played or coached the position, including all of the current offensive line coaches at the Division I/FBS level as well as former players, coaches, colleagues of Coach Moore and select media. The inaugural Joe Moore Award went to Alabama in 2015.


Canes Time Top Stories