Miami Selected As NCAA Regional Host

The University of Miami has been selected as one of 16 regional host sites for the 2004 NCAA Division I Baseball Championships. The regional tournament will begin on Friday, June 4 and continue through Sunday, June 6 at Mark Light Field.

Miami (44-11) will be hosting its 20th NCAA Regional. Miami will be making its NCAA-record 32nd consecutive regional appearance. The Hurricanes have advanced to the College World Series 16 of the 19 years they have hosted a regional and hold a 67-11 (.859) record in NCAA Regional play at Mark Light Field.

The Hurricanes have also won an NCAA-record 10 consecutive regionals under Head Coach Jim Morris, dating back to his first season in Coral Gables in 1994.

"You play all season to put yourself in position to host a regional," said Morris "You look at our record when we host a regional, and it has definitely given us an advantage over the years. We have battled through a lot of adversity this year with all of our injuries, but it has been nice to see the young guys like Jon Jay and Roger Tomas come through for us."

Tickets to the Coral Gables Regional may be purchased online at

The University of Miami and the ticket office are closed for Memorial Day but normal ticket office hours will resume on Tuesday, June 1. The office is open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tuesday through Friday. Call 284-CANES or 1-800-GO-CANES.

All-tournament packages are $40 for general admission and $30 for youths 17 and under and seniors 55 and over. Single day passes for Friday and Sunday are $15 for adults and $10 for youths and seniors. Saturday day passes are $20 for adults and $15 for youths and seniors.

The 64-team NCAA brackets will be announced on Monday, May 31 at noon (EDT) and televised on ESPN2.

Coral Gables              Miami (44-11)
Athens                    Georgia (38-20)
Atlanta                   Georgia Tech (41-18)
Austin                    Texas (50-13)
Baton Rouge               Louisiana State (41-17)
Charlottesville           Virginia (42-13)
Columbia                  South Carolina (44-15)
Fayetteville              Arkansas (39-21)
Fullerton                 Cal State Fullerton (36-20)
Houston                   Rice (42-12)
Kingston, N.C.            East Carolina (48-11)
Oklahoma City             Oklahoma (37-22)
Oxford                    Mississippi (39-19)
Palo Alto                 Stanford (44-11)
South Bend                Notre Dame (49-10)
Tallahassee               Florida State (41-20)

Canes Time Top Stories