Coker & Team Nominated For ESPY

The ESPY Awards Academy, which will determine the winners of the 10th annual ESPY Awards, has expanded its voting body to include 126 legendary athletes and coaches and nationally recognized print and broadcast sports journalists.

The ESPY Awards, which will take place at Hollywood's Kodak Theatre, will celebrate the outstanding achievements, relive the memorable moments and salute the best performers and performances in sports. ESPN will televise the event live on Wednesday, July 10 at 9 p.m. ET.

Newcomers to the ESPY Awards Academy include recently retired stars Ray Bourque (Avalanche/Bruins), Tony Gwynn (Padres) and Dan Marino (Dolphins) and Hall of Fame tennis player Billie Jean King. Media/industry newcomers include Chris Bernucca (SportsTicker), Tim Brando (Sporting News Radio), Pedro Gomez (Arizona Republic), Jim Huber (CNN), Harry Kalas (Hall of Fame broadcaster), Donna Lopiano (Women's Sports Foundation), Verne Lundquist (CBS), Jackie MacMullan (Boston Globe), Terry McDonell (Sports Illustrated), Fred Mitchell (Chicago Tribune), Scott Ostler (San Francisco Chronicle), Jim Rome (Syndicated Radio), Jon Saraceno (USA Today), Neal Scarbrough (ESPN), Jeremy Schaap (ESPN), Jason Whitlock (Kansas City Star) and Ralph Wiley (ESPN The Magazine).

Nominees have been announced for the 34 categories that the ESPY Awards Academy will consider. Included in the list are sport-specific categories (e.g. - Best NBA Player, Best NHL Player) and awards that cross over all sports (e.g. - Best Male Athlete, Best Comeback Athlete). Winners will be announced on the July 10 ESPY Awards telecast, hosted by Samuel L. Jackson.

The University of Miami received two nominations for this year's awards. The Hurricanes' football team received a nomination for Team of the Year, while head coach Larry Coker was nominated for Coach of the Year.

Other nominees for Team of the Year include the Arizona Diamondbacks, Carolina Hurricanes, Detroit Red Wings, Los Angeles Lakers, New England Patriots, New Jersey Nets, and the University of Connecticut women's basketball team.

Joining Coker as Coach of the Year nominees are UConn women's basketball coach Geno Auriemma, New England Patriots coach Bill Belichick, Arizona Diamondbacks coach Bob Brenly and Los Angeles Lakers coach Phil Jackson.

Canes Time Top Stories