Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award

MIAMI, FL -- The Miami TouchdownClub has announced its inaugural Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award Watch List. The Hendricks Award will be presented at the conclusion of thefootball season to the best collegiate defensive end in the country. Aprominent committee of more than 40 coaches, national media, and sportsinformation directors has selected the watch list.

On-field performance, leadership abilities, and contributions to school and community are some of the criteria that will be used to determine the award's winner. The candidates may be from any class (Freshmen through Senior) as well as from any recognized four-year NCAA accredited school (Division Ithrough Division III). The candidate's primary position must be Defensive End. Defensive ends that shift along the line are eligible. This year's candidates include, but are not limited to, the following players:

George Anderson, NC State, Sr.
Dave Ball, UCLA, Jr.
Tully Banta-Cain, California, Sr.
Derek Barnett, Indiana, Sr.
Nick Burley, Fresno State, Sr.
A.C. Collier, Baylor, Sr.
Jim Davis, Virginia Tech, Jr.
Kai Ellis, Washington, Sr.
Antonio Garay, Boston College, Sr.
Greg Gathers, Georgia Tech, Sr.
Brandon Green, Rice, Sr.
Noah Happe, Oregon State, Jr.
Michael Haynes, Penn State, Sr.
Peter Hogan, Colorado State, Sr.
Aaron Hunt, Texas Tech, Sr.
Alonzo Jackson, Florida State, Jr.
Chris Kelsay, DE, Nebraska, Sr.
Dan Klecko, Temple, Sr.
Jerome McDougle, Miami, Jr.
Seth McEwen, Oregon, Sr.
Kindal Moorehead, Alabama, Sr.
Shantee Orr, Michigan, Jr.
Calvin Pace, Wake Forest, Sr.
Elton Patterson, Central Florida, Sr.
Antwan Peek, Cincinnati, Sr.
Shaun Phillips, Purdue, Jr.
Dennis Quinn, South Carolina, Sr.
Cory Redding, Texas, Sr.
Constantin Ritzmann, Tennessee, Sr.
Dan Rumishek, Michigan, Sr.
Darrion Scott, Ohio State, Jr.
Fred Shavies, Washington State, Sr.
Garrett Smith, Utah, Sr.
Terrell Suggs, Arizona State, Jr.
Kalen Thornton, Texas, Jr.
Ty Warren, Texas A&M, Sr.
Dewayne White, Louisville, Jr.
Jimmy Wilkerson, Oklahoma, Jr.
Andrew Williams, Miami, Sr.

The Miami Touchdown Club wasformed in 1959, for the purpose of supporting and promoting football inMiami-Dade County. In 1961, the Miami TD Club added to its purpose the "Operation Scholarship" program. Operation Scholarship is a scouting guide/website listing for Miami-Dade area high school student/athletes to aid collegefootball coaches in scouting and provide these boys an opportunity to continuetheir educational pursuits. The Miami Touchdown Club is also very active in local youth-oriented charities, meetings featuring star athletes and coaches, and a golf tournament to benefit a multitude of South Florida non-profit organizations. All interview requests, information requests, and questions should be directed to The Hendricks Award Sports Information Director Lee Horn at 305-632-9582 or via email at sportslem@aol.com

Canes Time Top Stories