Three Hurricanes On AA Team

Sophomore tailback Willis McGahee, senior center Brett Romberg and sophomore tight end Kellen Winslow have been named to the Midseason All-America football team by

McGahee, a sophomore from Miami's Central High School, currently leads the team in rushing with 735 yards on 105 carries, averaging 7.0 yards per attempt. He has scored 11 rushing touchdowns this season, a total that already ranks him among the Hurricanes' all-time top 10 for single-season rushing touchdowns. McGahee has rushed for more than 100 yards in a game four times this season, including a 204-yard effort on Sept. 7 at Florida. He tied a school record for rushing touchdowns with four scores against Temple on Sept. 14.

Romberg, a senior from Windsor, Ontario, Canada, has started Miami's last 30 games at center. He has been the anchor of an offensive line that has led a Miami offense that is on pace to set another scoring record this season after shattering the school scoring record each of Romberg's previous two seasons as a starter. Romberg makes all of the blocking calls for the offensive line that has allowed the UM offense to average 481.2 yards per game, including 209.8 yards rushing and 271.3 yards passing. Miami running backs area averaging 6.1 yards per rush behind Romberg and the offensive line and UM quarterbacks have only been sacked five times this season through six games.

Winslow, a sophomore from Scripps Ranch High School in San Diego, Calif., is the team's leading receiver with 22 catches through six games. Winslow is averaging 12.1 yards per reception and has caught four touchdown passes this season. He has been Miami's leading pass catcher in three games this season, including a career-high six catches last Saturday against Florida State (for 84 yards and a touchdown).

McGahee, Romberg and Winslow have been key components of a UM offense that ranks among the nation's best in scoring offense (fourth, 43.67 points per game), total offense (fifth, 478.17 yards per game), passing offense (22nd, 271.33 yards per game) and rushing offense (25th, 206.83 yards per game).

Miami is the only school to place three players on the team. Notre Dame and Iowa both placed two players on the team.


QB - Seneca Wallace, Sr., Iowa State
RB - Willis McGahee, Soph., Miami
RB - Maurice Clarett, Fr., Ohio State
WR - Charles Rogers, Jr., Michigan State
WR - J.R. Tolver, Sr., San Diego State
TE - Kellen Winslow, Soph., Miami
OL - Derrick Dockery, Sr., Texas
OL - Montrae Holland, Sr., Florida State
OL - Derrick Roche, Sr., Washington State
OL - Brett Romberg, Sr., Miami
OL - Eric Steinbach, Sr., Iowa
PK - Nate Kaeding, Jr., Iowa
KR - Charles Pauley, Sr., San Jose State


DL - Kenny King, Sr., Alabama
DL - David Pollack, Soph., Georgia
DL - Terrell Suggs, Jr., Arizona State
DL - Ty Warren, Sr., Texas A&M
LB - Rod Davis, Jr., Southern Mississippi
LB - E.J. Henderson, Sr., Maryland
LB - Clifton Smith, Sr., Syracuse
DB - Marlin Jackson, Soph., Michigan
DB - Ricky Manning, Sr., UCLA
DB - Gerome Sapp, Sr., Notre Dame
DB - Shane Walton, Sr., Notre Dame
P - Mark Mariscal, Sr., Colorado
PR - DeJuan Groce, Sr., Nebraska

Canes Time Top Stories