Jenkins named Team MVP

Key Biscayne, Fla. - The University of Miami football program held its annual awards banquet Sunday night at Jungle Island in Miami. Award winners were announced for the 2007 season. Here is a list of this year's award winners:

Community Service Man of the Year Antonio Dixon
Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year Adewale Ojomo
Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year Robert Marve
Rookie of the Year Graig Cooper/Orlando Franklin
Hard Hitter Award Kenny Phillips
Special Teams Player of the Year Ryan Hill
Strength Training Athlete of the Year Derrick Morse
Nick Chickillo Most Improved Player John Rochford
Walt Kichefski Hurricane Award (commitment, consistency) Derrick Morse
Albert Bentley Most Valuable Walk-On Award Ross Abramson
Jack Harding Award (Team MVP) Darnell Jenkins
Mariutto Scholar Athlete (highest G.P.A.) David Strimple
Plumer Memorial Award (leadership, motivation, spirit) Tavares Gooden
Dale Melching Award (leadership) Derrick Morse
Unsung Hero Award Vegas Franklin

In addition, the Hurricanes honored the 20 seniors on this year's team: Ross Abramson, Andrew Bain, Grant Brown, Willie Cooper, Gabe Diaz, Benny Fernandez, Vegas Franklin, Tavares Gooden, Darnell Jenkins, Lance Leggett, Teraz McCray, Derrick Morse, John Rochford, Glenn Sharpe, David Strimple, Jonathan Teske, George Timmons, Cyrim Wimbs, Kyle Wright and Francesco Zampogna.

Canes Time Top Stories