2 Canes Named Semi-Finalists

The Miami Touchdown Club is proud to announce its inaugural Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award Semi-Finalists List. The Hendricks Award will be presented at the conclusion of the football season to the best collegiate defensive end in the country.

A prominent committee of more than 40 coaches, national media, and sports information directors has selected this semi-finalist list.

On-field performance, leadership abilities, and contributions to school and community are some of the criteria that will be used to determine the award's winner. The candidates may be from any class (Freshmen through Senior) as well as from any recognized four-year NCAA accredited school (Division I through Division III). The candidate's primary position must be Defensive End. Defensive Ends that shift along the line are eligible.

The Miami Touchdown Club was formed in 1959, for the purpose of supporting and promoting football in Miami-Dade County. In 1961, The Miami TD Club added to its purpose the "Operation Scholarship" program. Operation Scholarship is a scouting guide/website listing for Miami-Dade area high school student-athletes to aid college football coaches in scouting and provide these boys an opportunity to continue their educational pursuits. The Miami Touchdown Club is also very active in local youth-oriented charities, meetings featuring star athletes and coaches, and a golf tournament to benefit a multitude of South Florida non-profit organizations. All interview requests, information requests, and questions should be directed to The Hendricks Award Sports Information Director Lee Horn at 305-632-9582 or via email at sportslem@aol.com

The 10 Semi-Finalists are:

Nathaniel Adibi, Virginia Tech
Michael Haynes, Penn State
Alonzo Jackson, Florida State
Jerome McDougle, Miami (Fla.)
Kindal Moorehead, Alabama
Cory Redding, Texas
Terrell Suggs, Arizona State
DeWayne White, Louisville
Jimmy Wilkerson, Oklahoma
Andrew Williams, Miami (Fla.)

Canes Time Top Stories