Dorsey Semi-Finalist for Davey O'Brien

The Davey O'Brien Foundation has announced the 14 semifinalists for the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award and, for the second year in a row, senior quarterback Ken Dorsey (Orinda, Calif., Miramonte HS) has made the list.

Dorsey has completed 152-of-279 passes (54.5%) for 2,265 yards and 21 Touchdowns (tied for No. 7 on UM's single season list) in leading No. 1-ranked Miami to a 9-0 (4-0 BIG EAST) record this season. Along the way, Dorsey has set new UM career records for passing yards, completions, attempts, and total offense. The senior signalcaller also has thrown for 200 or more yards in seven of nine games, surpassing 300 yards three times and one 422-yard effort.

Dorsey also has set BIG EAST career records for passing touchdowns (79), passing yards (8,461), and pass completions (598) on the way to improving his career starting record to 35-1 (.972), including UM's current 31-game winning streak. The winningest quarterback in UM history, Dorsey is looking to become the first QB in school history to lead the Hurricanes to three consecutive 10-win seasons, a feat he can accomplish in Miami's next victory. Dorsey has completed 598 of 1,039 pass attempts (57.6 % - 5th in UM history) for 8,461 yards and 79 touchdowns with only 24 interceptions during his four-year Miami career.

The O'Brien Advisory Committee, composed of national sportswriters and commentators, will vote later this month to narrow the field again. The National College Football Awards Association will announce the three finalists on Monday, Dec. 2.

This year's winner will be announced at the 2002 Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Thursday, Dec. 12, in Orlando. The 26th annual O'Brien Awards Dinner is scheduled for Feb. 17, 2003, at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

Davey O'Brien Award Semi-Finalists

Brad Banks, Iowa
Kyle Boller, California
Ken Dorsey, Miami
Jason Gesser, Washington State
Kliff Kingsbury, Texas Tech
Byron Leftwich, Marshall
Jared Lorenzen, Kentucky
Eli Manning, Mississippi
Zack Mills, Penn State
Carson Palmer, USC
Dave Ragone, Louisville
Philip Rivers, North Carolina State
Chris Simms, Texas
Seneca Wallace, Iowa State

Canes Time Top Stories