John Mackey Award Finalist

University of Miami sophomore tight end Kellen Winslow has been named one of three finalists for the 2002 John Mackey Award, the Nassau County Sports Commission announced. The other finalists are Dallas Clark of Iowa, Mike Seidman of UCLA.

The winner of the award will be announced December 11 and will be presented his trophy at the NCSC's Annual Awards Dinner Banquet at the Chateau Briand in Westbury, N.Y. on April 8, 2003. The John Mackey Award selection committee is composed of national sportswriters, commentators and outstanding NFL players.

The John Mackey Award was created by the NCSC under the guidance of board member Don McPherson, a county native and former NFL and Syracuse University All-American quarterback. Mackey, also a Nassau County native, is regarded as one of the best athletes to have played the position of tight end. In addition to being an NFL Hall of Famer, he is a Super Bowl winner (Baltimore, Super Bowl V) and was the first President of the NFLPA.

Winslow leads Miami in receptions with 44, good for second nationally. His 579 yards receiving and 6 touchdown receptions also rank second nationally among tight ends. An All-America candidate and All-BIG EAST candidate in 2002, Winslow was one of four true freshmen to play last year during Miami's title run.

Canes Time Top Stories