McClinton a Lowe's Senior CLASS Candidate

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – Senior guard Jack McClinton of the University of Miami men's basketball team has been selected as a candidate for the 2008-09 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award.

McClinton is among 30 senior men's basketball players from around the nation – and four from the ACC – chosen as a candidate for the award, which is presented annually to an NCAA Division I student-athlete in nine sports. Based on criteria focusing on classroom, character, community and competition, the award winner will be selected by national balloting of head basketball coaches, national media and college basketball fans.

A national media committee will select 10 finalists from the initial list of 30 in February 2009. Those 10 finalists will be placed on the official ballot for nationwide vote, with the winner being announced during the weekend of the NCAA Men's Final Four.

McClinton, who has also been named a Wooden Award and Bob Cousy Award candidate this season, is the first Hurricane men's basketball player named as a candidate for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award. He leads the Hurricanes in scoring for the third-straight season with 17.0 points per game – including a team-high 2.7 assists and 2.3 three-pointers an outing. Miami's first All-ACC First Team selection in 2007-08, he was also the only First Team pick named to the All-ACC Academic Team.

Conceived by sportscaster Dick Enberg, the Lowe's Senior CLASS (Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School) Award was created in 2001-02 to honor the attributes of college basketball seniors who remain committed to their university and pursue the many rewards that a senior season and complete college education brings. Previous winners of the men's basketball award include Juan Dixon (Maryland, 2002), David West (Xavier, 2003), Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph's, 2004), Wayne Simien (Kansas, 2005), J.J. Reddick (Duke, 2006), Alando Tucker (Wisconsin, 2007) and Shan Foster (Vanderbilt, 2008).

2008-09 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award Candidates (Men's Basketball)

A.J. Abrams Texas
Jonathan Adams Old Dominion
Antonio Anderson Memphis
Connor Atchley Texas
Jimmy Baron Rhode Island
Dane Brumagin Missouri-Kansas City
Dionte Christmas Temple
Josh Dotzler Creighton
Robert Dozier Memphis
Marcus Ginyard North Carolina
Tyler Hansbrough North Carolina
Sam Hinnant East Carolina
Jason Holsinger Evansville
Lester Hudson Tennesee-Martin
Curtis Jerrells Baylor
Marcus Landry Wisconsin
Matt Lawrence Missouri
Andrew Lovedale Davidson
Jack McClinton Miami
Jerel McNeal Marquette
Leonard Mendez Georgia State
Danny Morrissey Penn State
Greg Paulus Duke
Tayler Rochestie Washington State
Matt Szalachowski Lehigh
Paul Velander Nebraska
Andy Wicke Belmont
Gary Wilkinson Utah State
Terrence Wililams Louisville
Sam Young Pittsburg

Canes Time Top Stories