Bosher named to Lou Groza watch list

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – Junior kicker Matt Bosher has been named to the preseason watch list for the Lou Groza Award, given to the nation's top collegiate kicker.

Bosher, a semifinalist for the 2008 Groza Award, was also named to the 2009 Preseason All-ACC Team. Last season, he earned second team All-ACC honors as a kicker and punter and also was awarded Miami's Jack Harding Award, given to the team's most valuable player. Bosher led Miami with 94 points while connecting on 18-of-20 field goal attempts and 40-of-40 PAT's.

The 18th annual quest to name the finest place kicker in college football's FBS division (Division1-A) began Wednesday as the Palm Beach County Sports Commission unveiled its preseason watch list of 30 kickers. In addition to Bosher, the group includes 2008 finalist Josh Arauco of Arkansas State and 2007 Lou Groza Award recipient Thomas Weber of Arizona State.

Nine 2008 semi-finalists are named to the list. Eighteen of the kickers listed are underclassmen. The SEC is the most recognized conference with five members included. The Big Ten and Big 12 each placed four kickers on the list.

More than three hundred media representatives, coaches, past recipients, conference and university officials make up the voting panel which selects the recipient of the Lou Groza Collegiate Place Kicking Award. The Award will be presented on Dec. 10, 2009, as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards program. The three finalists will be honored at the 18th annual Lou Groza Award Banquet to be held at the Kravis Center in West Palm Beach, Florida on Tuesday Dec. 8.

For more information on the Lou Groza Award and the Palm Beach County Sports Commission visit

2009 Lou Groza Award Preseason Watch List

Josh Arauco, Sr., Arkansas St.
James Aho, So., New Mexico
Matt Bosher, Jr., Miami
Kyle Brotzman, Jr., Boise St.
Josh Czajkowski, Jr., NC State
Ross Evans, So., TCU
Clark Fangmeier, Sr., Rice
Kai Forbath, Jr., UCLA
Sam Glusman, Sr., Troy
Kevin Goessling, So., Fresno State
Ben Hartman, Sr., East Carolina
Alex Henery, Jr., Nebraska
Hunter Lawrence, Sr., Texas
Daniel Lincoln, Jr., Tennessee
Nick Maggio, Jr., Duke
Aaron Pettrey, Sr., Ohio State
Jonathan Phillips, Sr., Florida
Jake Rogers, Jr., Cincinnati
Mike Salerno, Sr., Northern Illinois
Joshua Shene, Sr., Ole Miss
Alex Steigerwald, Sr., Toledo
Jimmy Stevens, So., Oklahoma
Brett Swenson, Sr., Michigan State
Dave Teggart, So., UConn
Leigh Tiffin, Sr., Alabama
Brandon Walker, So., Notre Dame
Blair Walsh, So., Georgia
Thomas Weber, Jr., Arizona St.
Philip Welch, Jr., Wisconsin

Canes Time Top Stories